you're reading:
Capitalization, Html & inline css codes, Themes

Overriding small caps in Oulipo

Oulipo is one of the latest additions to themes. Two unique features:

a) Blog title, tagline and “top” navigation tabs are placed in the left sidebar instead of the header; their position is fixed (that is, they don’t disappear out of view when you scroll down).

b) The first line of each post or static page is in a style borrowed from traditional typography – small caps, large initial:

Personally I find it elegant (same goes for the rest of the font choices in this theme). But a few users have already complained. So, if you don’t like it, you can override it using one of the following solutions (in the HTML editor):

<div style="font-variant:normal;">

<div style="text-transform:none;">

<div style="display:none;">-</div>

And this is what you need to add if you have the CSS upgrade:

.entry > p:first-child:first-letter, .entry > p:first-child:first-line { font-family: “Lucida Grande”, “Lucida Sans Unicode”, Verdana, sans-serif; font-variant: normal; font-size: 1em; }

Please don’t paste code in comments – see comment guidelines.


18 thoughts on “Overriding small caps in Oulipo

  1. I’ve always liked that style of typography, the large initial capital and the small caps on the first line. I had a series of books with gorgeous illustrations, and that was the way each story began.

    (Is the shadow part of your image?)

    Anyway, what I wondered, is if you could put
    in your sidebar? I know, I could just bookmark it but I use it almost every time I’m in the forum and it would be so convenient.

    Posted by Tess | October 21, 2010, 00:21
  2. – Yeah, I’ve got several books like that too.

    – You mean as opposed to created via HTML? Yes, shame on me, it’s part of the image. See my Links 2 > Dropshadows.

    – You mean put it under “Some Reference Posts”? Ok, will do.

    Posted by Panos | October 21, 2010, 04:37
  3. PS “Along with the rest of the font choices in this theme, I find it elegant.” Is that English? Could you suggest an improvement very please?

    Posted by Panos | October 21, 2010, 04:51
  4. You know, I was just thinking about that word: elegant. I learned a new word because of it: soigné. But I don’t know how to use it in a sentence. Your sentence is fine; it needs no refinement.

    No shame in the shadow. I fear if it were HTML then the poor IE folk would not see it, and that would be sad because it works so well with the typography.

    My books are still up north, in my parent’s house. The house has been unoccupied for years. My brother was up there last week and found my book with the haiku. It’s a little warped and has a very strong smell of abandonment and mildew. It’s interesting that he also found a book that my other brother bound for me. Now that I consider it, you remind me of him: thorough to expertise. It’s beautifully made, but contains only my crude calligraphy copying the haiku.

    Ah. Anyway. Thank you for putting the link in your sidebar. Now I can get on with being your number one fan in the forums. ≥^!^≤

    Posted by Tess | October 21, 2010, 16:01
  5. All’s well then – thanks!

    I think soigné means done with care.

    First think I do when I get hold of an old book is smell it. E-books don’t smell…

    Posted by Panos | October 22, 2010, 12:49
  6. Hi Panos,
    I’m just curious… how did you learn all these html and css tricks? Did you study online only using websites like w3schools?

    If the aubject is too personal for public disclosure, then please accept my apologies in advance…

    Posted by Netty Gritty | October 22, 2010, 21:19
  7. @Panos,
    Yes, I found the word ‘soigné’ via a thesaurus. But that does not mean I know how to use it in a sentence—it also seems to have taken on different connotations in English from French. A pretty word. Just as physical books have bodies that electronic books can never equal.
    I think I must try to ameliorate the problem…

    Posted by Tess | October 23, 2010, 05:15
  8. @Tess: You thing so?

    @NG: How can a subject I blog about be too personal? Actually I like telling my story, to encourage people who fear HTML.

    About five years ago a good friend of mine, in whose Blogspot blog I used to contribute, showed me the HTML of his template. I ran away in terror.

    He knew just enough to make some small changes; but he taught me my first code: simple links. For years that was the only HTML I knew or (thought I) needed.

    About two and a half years ago I started my own blog (not this one, an eponymous one, as a personal webpage). One day there was a strange problem. Enter forum…

    I found I liked the forum, and I found there were interesting replies there, opening windows to possibilities I was unaware of. I started learning from replies by knowledgeable people such as Juan aka devblog or Rich aka thesacredpath, and started saving useful bits and pieces of code in a file (at first mostly without really understanding how they work).

    And at some point I found I could give some replies myself. I have a penchant for learning new things, and I like solving problems, finding workarounds etc., so this turned into a hobby. I would experiment, google for answers to specific issues, exchange ideas/questions/answers with Tess and other volunteers, and so on.

    The rest is recorded in this blog.

    Posted by Panos | October 23, 2010, 14:51
  9. Wow! Thanks for sharing! To think that you learned so well on your own gives me hope! :)

    Posted by Netty Gritty | October 24, 2010, 08:22
  10. Panos, I’ve spent time as a copy editor and would like to answer your request,

    ““Along with the rest of the font choices in this theme, I find it elegant.” Is that English? Could you suggest an improvement very please?”

    Your sentence is quite understandable to native English speakers, but it would be better if it were: “I find it, along with the rest of the font choices in this theme, elegant.”

    English meaning depends on word order since we have hardly any noun cases left; other languages change the form of nouns, adjectives, etc., to indicate subject, object, gender,and so on. So our grammar requires that if this part “Along with the rest of the font choices in this theme,” comes first in the sentence then it should refer to the subject of the sentence, “I”.

    This would be a grammatical sentence of that form: “Along with the others who have seen the Oulipo theme, I find it elegant.” That way the first part does refer to “I” rather than to “it” the theme.

    I think the fact that you asked about that sentence shows that you are developing a good ear for English. That is the hardest part of learning a language, only acquired by much reading and listening, and many native speakers show when they write that their “ear” is not very good!

    Posted by nosleepingdog | October 25, 2010, 23:30
  11. @nosleepingdog: Thanks!

    I kept feeling that this phrase was unnatural, but couldn’t tell why. So now I understand it comes close to saying that I’m sharing the same opinion with the rest of my colleagues the font choices…

    And again I can’t tell why, but I don’t really like your alternative either – I’ll rephrase more drastically!

    Posted by Panos | October 26, 2010, 14:26
  12. You could say simply that you like the font styles in this theme and that you think the small caps are elegant.

    Posted by Tess | October 26, 2010, 17:28
  13. Or rather,
    “I like the fonts in this theme, and find the small caps style to be elegant.”
    That sentence is simple and direct.
    (well, it has a compound predicate)

    Posted by Tess | October 26, 2010, 17:41
  14. I’ll see, I’ll see…

    Posted by Panos | October 26, 2010, 23:53
  15. _(\°°/)_
    a frog in my throat

    {sorry: hope to do better in future}

    Posted by Tess | October 27, 2010, 05:20
  16. I have a problem when I try to upgrade from Oulipo 1.0.6
    to version I am using WordPress 2.9.2.

    The problem is that when I upload the new version as a separate theme, or upload it to replace the old version, I get a blank screen. I can’t access the site at all — not even the dashboard. I have to remove the new theme version with FTP and re-upload the old one. Hassle.

    What am I doing wrong? Or does Oulipo not work in WordPress 2.9.2?

    Posted by J S | December 14, 2010, 06:07
  17. The other problem is that my blog is about blogs, not self-hosted ones. Different software, different theme versions. Sorry, I can’t help.

    Posted by Panos | December 14, 2010, 17:30


  1. Pingback: blogging - February 29, 2016


author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.


  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
