you're reading:
About page, Sidebar, Slug, Themes

Eliminating redundant About in Andreas04

In Andreas 04 the contents of your About page are automatically displayed in the sidebar area (on top of your widgets, spanning the width of both sidebars) as long as the page slug is “about”. Very neat, if you wish to have your bio or an introduction to the blog permanently displayed on your front page: in most themes you would have to click the About tab to access that info; if you wanted it on the blog front, you would have to set your front to display your About page instead of your posts (not good for your traffic) or put the info in a Text widget instead (ok but not as easy to format as a static page).

Unfortunately, the About tab in Andreas 04 shows up in the top menu too (in my opinion, the designer of the theme should have taken care it doesn’t), so if you click the tab you get the same information displayed twice:

Andreas04 About

Two ways to eliminate that:

a) About info accessed via the header tab, not displayed in the sidebar: change the page slug to anything other than “about”.

b) About info displayed in the sidebar, no tab in the header: make sure the slug is “about” but delete the page title.


6 thoughts on “Eliminating redundant About in Andreas04

  1. Panos,
    I just came across your blog for the first time. Lots to learn here. Thank you for sharing your creativity.

    I’m using the Andreas04 theme specifically for the feature that puts the contents of the About page in the sidebar of the front page, and as far as I can tell it also appears in the sidebar of all post pages. I like it as an into to the blog no matter what page a reader lands on first.

    Are you aware of any other themes that include this feature? I often think I’d like a different look for my blog, but I don’t want to sacrifice this into feature.

    Posted by Cynthia & Bob | December 8, 2010, 04:52
  2. You’re welcome.

    You don’t have to sacrifice anything: you can simply copy the content of the page from the HTML editor and paste it into a Text widget. So any theme with a wide sidebar will do – see my post on sidebar width.

    If you’re interested in retaining the particular sidebar structure (one column followed by two columns), the themes that have this option are Coraline, Pilcrow, Vigilance and zBench.

    Posted by Panos | December 8, 2010, 07:39
  3. Thank you for this advice, Panos. I’m guessing this is what you were referring to in your original post when you said, “or put the info in a Text widget instead (ok but not as easy to format as a static page).”

    I tried using a text widget some time ago for this function, but my recollection is that the format didn’t look as good. At the time I didn’t copy the page from the HTML editor, as you suggest, so maybe that will make a difference. I’ll try it again. It’s nice to think I can achieve the same result using a theme I like better.

    I don’t particularly like the Andreas04 sidebar structure of the double columns after the single column. I’m mostly interested in a theme that offers lots of flexibility. I particularly like the idea of a wysiwyg text editor that seems popular in more recently developed themes.

    I’ve recently decided to include frequent (almost daily) mini-posts of a few sentences in a blog that’s traditionally had much longer posts that are published every few weeks. I currently limit the front page to the most recent full post, but I’m starting to think maybe having the front page display many posts that would include mini-posts and longer posts that utilize the feature to display only a short excerpt of longer posts.

    I’m in awe of your wordpress knowledge and look forward to learning from the information in your blog. I’m just beginning to look under the hood. Thanks again for the help you offer less experienced bloggers like me.

    Posted by Cynthia & Bob | December 8, 2010, 16:23
  4. Yes that’s what I was referring to in the post.

    The main field of a text widget is an HTML editor, so there’s no formatting at all if you don’t use HTML coding. You can use the workaround I suggested (doesn’t work for everything, though, as main content and sidebar content aren’t always designed exactly the same), or you work things out directly in the widget using HTML (see my left sidebar > Some Reference Posts > “Codes useful for text widgets” and “Formatting text” pts 1-5).

    And actually you can achieve a better result, because the redundancy you get in Adreas04 when you visit the About page is a mistake plain and simple.

    If you’re interested in mini-posts, you should check the new Asides option too (post editor – currently only available in Coraline, Motion, Twenty Ten, Under the Influence).

    Posted by Panos | December 8, 2010, 18:06
  5. Panos,
    Thanks for the reference to your recent posts on codes useful for formatting text in text widgets. I’ll check them out.

    And thanks for your suggestion to check out the new ‘Asides’ post editor option available in the Themes you mentioned. This is the first time I’m hearing about this option. Theme Twenty Ten and Coraline are two of the themes I was interested in because of their reputation for flexibility.


    Posted by Cynthia & Bob | December 8, 2010, 18:57
  6. You’re welcome. Many of the newer themes have extra features. In my opinion 2010 and Coraline aren’t very good-looking.

    Posted by Panos | December 9, 2010, 01:54


author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.


  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
