you're reading:
Clock, Flash, Gigya, Html & inline css codes, Shortcodes, Sidebar, Widgets

Widgets for wp.com blogs: 4 – world time

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

• General background: The gigya shortcode 3 – widgets.
• Paste shortcode into text widget or html post/page editor. For suitable dimensions check my posts on sidebar width and post/page width.
• Some of these widgets may not display correctly in Explorer – use at your own risk (till Explorer learns to behave, or till users learn not to use Explorer).

Page 2: local plus Los Angeles, Berlin, Wellington, Moscow, Tokyo, Mexico City, New York, Phoenix
Page 3: London, India, New York, Singapore
Page 4: local plus London, Paris, Moscow, Tokyo, New York, Los Angeles
Page 5: world map plus time
Page 6: world time plus statistics

Please don’t paste code in comments – see comment guidelines.
Discussion

17 thoughts on “Widgets for wp.com blogs: 4 – world time

  1. Panos
    exceptional watches world!
    thanks!

    (I was logged in, are the same as putignanonelmirino)
    Good Sunday

    Posted by portaleazzurro | August 28, 2010, 22:25
  2. My goodness, these are so awesome! You’ve outdone yourself – something I find hard to believe!

    Posted by IzaakMak | August 28, 2010, 23:03
  3. Thanks guys!

    (Next post in the series will be weather widgets.)

    Posted by Panos | August 29, 2010, 00:02
  4. Panos,
    Sorry to go OT, but do you know much about Icecast? I set up a source client as a “beta” and broadcasted “web radio” all day today. Ideally, I’d love to fashion a widget/player for my blogpage. At the very least I can host it elsewhere and link to it. Curious if you’ve looked at it.

    Posted by djeddieo | August 29, 2010, 02:33
  5. @djeddieo: I don’t know anything at all about Icecast. I’ll look into it in due time.

    Posted by Panos | August 29, 2010, 17:58
  6. Hi Panos. I’ve been searching my brain, trying to remember widgets I’ve seen that I really, really wished I could have on my blog. I finally realized that what I’ve admired more than anything else on other blogs are those neat little “Quote of the Day” widgets. I tried doing a search for them, thinking that I could ask for your help if I found one I liked.

    Unfortunately I got way more results than I anticipated, and the few I liked turned out not to be free. Do you know of any that are both free and will work with the gigya shortcode? Have you considered doing a post on widgets like this?

    Thanks.

    Posted by IzaakMak | September 2, 2010, 22:07
  7. @IM: Yes, I’ll do a post with such stuff too. In the meantime, please link to a couple of widgets you liked so I can try find a similar free one.

    Posted by Panos | September 3, 2010, 14:24
  8. Grand, grand MERCI Panos.
    C’est formidable !

    Posted by vasiloric | December 3, 2010, 10:45
  9. @vasiloric: You’re welcome!
    (More widgets forthcoming!)

    Posted by Panos | December 4, 2010, 00:50
  10. Hi Panos, I was just about to put this on my blog, it looks so cool but… A small thing…..London time should maybe be renamed Greenwich Mean Time. The time in London right now is an hour ahead, as we are on BST.

    As Wiki puts it : ‘British Summer Time (BST) is the civil time during the summer months in the United Kingdom during which the clocks are advanced from Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)[1][2] by one hour. The British Summer Time period begins on the last Sunday of March and ends on the last Sunday of October. Though initially popular after its introduction in 1916, the practice now divides opinion.”

    Posted by Joanna | July 17, 2011, 23:04
  11. Hi,
    Those widgets aren’t mine so I can’t do anything about that!
    You could add one of the clocks you can find here (all configurable):

    http://www.clocklink.com/

    Posted by Panos | July 18, 2011, 09:19
  12. I realised that after I had left the comment, and looked at the widgets properly. Apologies!

    Posted by Joanna | July 19, 2011, 01:29
  13. Thanks for this!
    AD

    Posted by AD | August 7, 2011, 19:29
  14. You’re welcome AD!

    Posted by Panos | August 8, 2011, 14:37
  15. Hi , can you make Chatroll work for wordpress? same as clocks…simply posting the code into a Text widget?

    Posted by lostROsoul | September 3, 2011, 17:48
  16. Hi,
    I’m not familiar with Chatroll. If you have an account with them, show me the code(s) you can get and I’ll tell you. See point 4 here first:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/comment-guidelines/

    Posted by Panos | September 3, 2011, 20:51

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Flash Magic For Dummies Like Me | I Want Ice Water - August 29, 2010

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,552,704 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
