you're reading:
Html & inline css codes, Reblogging

Anti-reblogging

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

If you don’t like “reblogging”, and so long as WP refuses to consider the addition of an opt-out option, try pasting this at the beginning of a post (in the html editor) and see what happens when you reblog that post:

<div style="display:none;">
ADD AT LEAST SIXTY-SIX WORDS HERE
</div>

(None of this will be visible on your actual post – provided you’re not using one of the themes that display post beginnings on the main page or on category/archive pages.)

Drawback: The hidden text will show up in your feeds too.

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Please don’t paste code in comments – see comment guidelines.
Discussion

36 thoughts on “Anti-reblogging

  1. <3 it!
    LOL: You see my blank look!

    ≥^!^≤

    Posted by Tess | July 3, 2010, 02:00
  2. So is the look of the splog post (for the most part)!

    Capitalized text thanks to tfockler60.

    Posted by Panos | July 3, 2010, 02:14
  3. Nice idea! I ☆ Like! ;-)

    Posted by K. Gregorovius | July 3, 2010, 02:42
  4. @KJ: Thanks. It’s just one more variation on Tess’s original idea:

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/reblogging/page/5?replies=142#post-472580

    Posted by Panos | July 3, 2010, 02:51
  5. great idea. Guess what, just before i read this post, i had a similar idea and was preparing to add a similar post in my blog :D

    Posted by phoxis | July 3, 2010, 07:37
  6. @phoxis: By all means do! The original idea isn’t mine anyway, it’s Tess’s.

    Posted by Panos | July 3, 2010, 10:16
  7. Ah. But the blank spaces are MUCH clever-er.

    Posted by Tess | July 3, 2010, 18:10
  8. Panos: I pasted this into html editor:
    THIS AUTHOR DOES NOT PERMIT “RE-BLOGGING” WITHOUT PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT.   [...] (from your e-mail).
    I updated it, pressed “view post.” Blog was gone except for tags & comment box.
    (this was WITHOUT even clicking on “Like” or “reblog”.
    DID GET IT BACK BY DELETING THE “this author does not….” etc. statement.
    Marilyn

    Posted by merillion | July 4, 2010, 01:10
  9. @Marilyn: You mean subscription mail? I don’t know what shows up in those mails – probably the html I’ve used to make the code show up in the post, which isn’t valid code anymore. You must copypaste the whole framed thing from my post into your html editor.

    Posted by Panos | July 4, 2010, 01:30
  10. Panos,
    Just FYI, what showed up in the email was

    “and see what happens when you reblog the post: THIS AUTHOR DOES NOT PERMIT “RE-BLOGGING” WITHOUT PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT.   [...]”

    Thanks, I’ll copy the whole framed thing from your post instead.
    Marilyn

    Posted by merillion | July 4, 2010, 03:52
  11. @Marilyn: I don’t get it – could you please paste the entire mail here?

    Posted by Panos | July 4, 2010, 20:49
  12. Panos – sure. Can also forward email to your email if you want. This is it:

    [email removed - P.]

    Posted by merillion | July 6, 2010, 07:22
  13. Thanks – hope you don’t mind my removing the mail.

    I’ve set my feeds to “summary”, i.e. beginnings only, so a subscription mail is just a notification that something new has been posted, not a substitute for the actual post. Your blog went haywire because the beginning in this case included an opening div tag but not the corresponding closing one. An html tag will always mess your blog up if left unclosed, unless you have enabled the option “WordPress should correct invalidly nested XHTML automatically” in Settings>Writing (which you should do, to avoid such accidents).

    Posted by Panos | July 6, 2010, 09:29
  14. Hello, Panos. Hope you’re fine :)

    Panos, can I put a link to both ( ONE and TWO) of your articles down to this post, please ?

    (Feel free to keep it off line, modify this comment, or suppress the link to my post

    By the way, I’d like to add that to me it depends a lot of how you will use that “reblog” opportunity, and I know damn well that not everybody has got enough of respect to use it a gentle and fair way

    Sorry for that short English that’s mine (yet I do the best I can ,-)

    Thanks by advance for your reply. Best regards,

    Mad:)

    Posted by lilmaouz | July 6, 2010, 15:32
  15. Hi lilmaouz! Of course you can link to my articles – you needn’t even ask!

    Yes, the feature can be used well or badly. But Matt’s absurd behavior shows that they don’t care about that: they only seem to be interested in multiplying posts and traffic at all costs. (Are you aware of the other new feature, post-by-voice?)

    Posted by Panos | July 6, 2010, 17:49
  16. Hello again! And thanks a lot, Panos! (but sure I will keep on asking before, as usually :)

    Oho, that’s of course a bit less funny :(

    Yes, I’ve seen that “post by voice” & euh it left me …with no voice :p
    Or as a bad mouse, maybe I thought “now it’s a way to add some music without having an upgrade” ( did I really have that bad bad idea? No, not me, surely not! =D)

    What is it about? Alcoohol & late nights? I’m too old to play the game, dear :)) lol

    Posted by lilmaouz | July 6, 2010, 18:23
  17. Hi, Panos:
    Removal of mail no problem.
    HTML is very interesting! Like another language.
    Thanks for explanation.
    I will take your advice re enabling “WordPress should correct invalidly nested XHTML automatically”. I probably saw that phrase when first starting WP blog; I think my reaction was “Huh?”

    Posted by Marilyn | July 6, 2010, 22:24
  18. @lilmaouz: Post by voice & no voice & alcohol & late nights? See very good post here:

    http://ronsrants.wordpress.com/2010/07/01/phone-in-my-blog-post-hell-you-couldnt-pay-me-to/

    You’re a bad mouse, but you can add music without the space upgrade anyway: you just upload the mp3s elsewhere.

    Posted by Panos | July 7, 2010, 04:40
  19. @Marilyn: HTML is very interesting and very useful. You might like to know that although I’ve come to specialize in HTML, when I started blogging five years ago I viewed HTML as an incomprehensible labyrinth that was totally beyond me.

    To continue with the explanation, the ‘opening’ tag that says “display:none” means “hide the content from this point on”; naturally, you need a corresponding ‘closing’ tag that says “up to this point”. When you copied and pasted the opening tag only, you gave the first order only, which amounted to “hide everything that follows”.

    Posted by Panos | July 7, 2010, 04:52
  20. PS1 You understand that the job of the “Huh?” option is to add missing closing tags. (Yes it was Huh? to me too when I first saw it, and because it’s Huh? to most users, WP should have the default for that option to on, not off: would have saved countless bloggers from rushing in with “help – sidebar suddenly at the bottom” or “help – whole blog suddenly in italics”!)

    PS2 For some of the simplest uses of HTML, see this post:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/html-allowed-in-comments-2/

    Posted by Panos | July 7, 2010, 06:31
  21. Hello, Panos! That was just a bad joke… :p
    (there are lots of mp3s on my 2nd blog)
    Thank you for the link. Have a nice day :)

    Posted by lilmaouz | July 7, 2010, 08:25
  22. @lilmaouz: Sorry, I was sure you know that, but your joke might confuse others; this blog is all about technical advice, so I felt I had to clarify it…

    Posted by Panos | July 7, 2010, 11:45
  23. I was playing around with Structure, and noticed that if you don’t make a custom excerpt, then the anti-re-blogging div shows up on your front page.
    The ever quirky Hemingway also has the problem.
    Are there other themes which show only part of posts on the front page?

    Posted by Tess | July 16, 2010, 02:19
  24. Shit – you’re right! Inuit too. And of course the same thing will happen on category pages in themes that display beginnings there… I must add these warnings to the post.

    Posted by Panos | July 16, 2010, 13:40
  25. Questions:
    You and I know that the blank spaces will be stripped if you switch to the visual editor, but maybe some people don’t?

    Drawback: The capitalized text will show up in your feeds too.

    Hmm. I don’t see the “this author” text in my feed? What am I missing? (nor in mail)

    Posted by Tess | July 16, 2010, 19:51
  26. Shit again! That’s what happens when I get excited and publish a post before thoroughly testing everything… Post needs revising (but I can’t do it right now).

    Re feeds, maybe you’ve set them to full instead of summary?

    Posted by Panos | July 17, 2010, 04:40
  27. I didn’t want to corrupt your mores by getting you to curse in English, but I thought it’s better to know what bad news I discovered.
    “Shit!” is not so bad. Happens all the time…
    Maybe just add a caveat at the top?
    Anyway, I’m looking forward to your gigya post.

    re: feeds
    settings—>reading—>For each article in a feed, show = ticked box: summary
    shrug.

    Posted by Tess | July 17, 2010, 05:49
  28. Shit happens all the time, but this proved to be my sloppiest post!

    Re feeds (at the moment, at least), shrug too…

    Gigya post? You mean on widgets? That’ll be postS.

    Posted by Panos | July 17, 2010, 06:04
  29. “Shit happens all the time, but this proved to be my sloppiest post!”
    Then we could wish that it is the bottom of despair/

    gigya posts, yes. aye. S

    Posted by Tess | July 17, 2010, 07:59
  30. Thank for the tips. But, I just wrote it in the html editor, then I look at the visual editor, then I see again in the html editor, why do I see the opening and closing division only? Is this really true?
    Sorry for this stupid question…
    Thank…

    Posted by Om Kicau | January 19, 2011, 12:45
  31. Ah, not at all stupid! On the contrary, thanks for noticing this and pointing it out: I never use the visual editor, and I had forgotten about this problem. The HTML standard is no multiple spaces, so the visual editor (designed for those who don’t know HTML) is configured to wipe out seemingly wrong or useless stuff. I’ll add a note in the post – with due credit, of course!

    Posted by Panos | January 19, 2011, 15:19
  32. I see.
    When I do not switch the editor to the visual… instead just publish it, all written code intact and it could see on the source code of the page/post.
    Thank you, again.

    Posted by Om Kicau | January 19, 2011, 16:21

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Reblogging, round 2. A reblogged post. « Ludus naturae - July 3, 2010

  2. Pingback: Reblogging, and countermeasures… « wordpress tips - July 11, 2010

  3. Pingback: Code to make image transparent « Netty Gritty - December 29, 2010

  4. Pingback: Code to make image transparent < wordpress tips << Netty Gritty « Netty Gritty - December 29, 2010

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,546,051 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
