you're reading:
Featured image, Featured post, Images, Themes, Typekit, Widgets

Featured posts/images in Bueno

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

The newly introduced Bueno theme includes a unique widget: “Bueno Featured Posts”. Activating this widget allows you to showcase some posts in the sidebar. (You can add the widget to one of the footer cells instead of the sidebar, but that defeats the purpose of showcasing.)

Title
You can title the widget any way you like; if you don’t type anything in the title box, the title in the sidebar will be “Featured Posts”.

Dropdown 1 (“Show posts tagged with:”)
If you don’t select anything, the widget will display your latest five posts.
If you select a tag, the widget will display the latest five posts tagged with that tag.
Important: the tag has to be a single word or it won’t work. [Update: problem fixed.]

Dropdown 2 (“Show content as:”)
If you select “Full content”, the widget will display complete posts. Definitely not recommended if the posts are long and/or if they include images or any other object wider than the sidebar.
If you select “Excerpts”, the sidebar will display the beginning of each showcased post. It can also display alternative custom-made excerpts or summaries, if you write those in the Excerpt module of the post editor (see here for more). If you see no Excerpt module on the post editor screen, click “Screen Options” (top right) to activate it.

Featured images
The showcased posts can be accompanied by small thumbnails, as shown in the official screenshot of the theme reproduced here.

The thumbnails will automatically show up if you set a featured image to each post (or to each post tagged with the selected tag). For instructions on how to set featured images, see the relevant Support doc. Again, if you don’t see the Featured Image module on the post editor screen, click “Screen Options” to activate it.

If you set featured images, the thumbnails will show up no matter if you select Full Content or Excerpts in the widget dropdown. But in my opinion the effect is better if you select the Excerpts option (as shown in the screenshot); in fact, thumbnails or no thumbnails I don’t see any point at all in displaying full posts in the sidebar.

Featured images show up at the beginning of each post as well, on the main posts page and on archive pages (but not when viewing a single complete post); maximum dimensions 490×200 pixels (cropped if larger).

Note: The general look of the theme is customizable. You can change the background color or add a background image; you can also add a header image (will show up below the title and top navigation).
You can (must?) also change the horrible header font via Typekit; see here.

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Discussion

84 thoughts on “Featured posts/images in Bueno

  1. This is such a neat feature I was almost tempted to switch to Bueno. I wish WP would add this widget to all the themes, or at least give us some better control over the “Top Posts” widget so that it doesn’t show almost the same list of posts as the “Recent Posts” widget.

    Thanks for explaining how this widget works!

    Posted by ELMalvaney | May 13, 2010, 07:46
  2. You’re welcome! Yes it’s a nice feature, and my guess is there’ll be more new themes with something similar. In my opinion, the turn-off in this theme is the font used for the title and the page tabs; I believe you can change that using Typekit, but I haven’t tried Typekit yet.

    Posted by Panos | May 13, 2010, 13:28
  3. I fiddled around with Typekit but found it confusing, and then my site ran much slower than normal when I actually used it, so I abandoned my efforts. Maybe I just didn’t know what I was doing.

    Posted by ELMalvaney | May 13, 2010, 16:00
  4. @ELMalvaney: I don’t know either! Trying Typekit, and maybe writing about it, is one of the things I’ve got on queue…

    [Update:]

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/improving-bueno-via-typekit/

    Posted by Panos | May 14, 2010, 00:47
  5. Trying Typekit is on my list as well. Seems my time is spent on things not related to my own interests lately, though. Anyway, this might interest you:

    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/home_blog/2010/05/the-changing-typography-of-the-web.html

    Of course we can’t use them on wp.com, but it is interesting.

    BTW, I would say “defeats the purpose” rather than “but that defies the purpose of showcasing.)” Either is correct, but the former sounds better to my ear.
    (just as “Twenty Ten” is more searchable than “2010.)

    Best…Tess

    Posted by Tess | May 14, 2010, 17:45
  6. Defeated!

    And I proclaim defeat on the other thing too: I’ll soon turn all theme names to the ‘official’ version. Pain…

    Posted by Panos | May 14, 2010, 20:40
  7. dear, never my intention to cause pain, you know!

    One thing I wonder about is what is your criteria for a well designed theme? With so many new themes becoming available (and somewhat usable) there are also new features. Perhaps an opinion post? More specific (or personal) than the scope of your blog here?

    Posted by Tess | May 15, 2010, 03:19
  8. Pain over! I changed all the 2010s and 2813s to the written-out versions, and I decided I’ll leave the rest as I have them (for instance Chaotic Soul instead of ChaoticSoul).

    Opinion post on themes? Me? (What do I know about themes?…) My criteria are both aesthetic and functional, of course, but style and taste is partly subjective while features must be judged with a view to what one wants to do with the blog. So I wouldn’t do an opinion post, at least not in the sense of recommending or not recommending some themes. I could reply to questions such as if a certain theme has flaws or if it’s suitable for a certain type of content, but no more than that, I think.

    Posted by Panos | May 15, 2010, 05:20
  9. Panos, Thanks again for providing clear information about features in the newly released themes.

    In my Bueno, my Featured Posts appear with a selection from the first few lines of the text without having to put anything in the excerpt box. I see the benefit of using the excerpt box would be control over the length of excerpt, but in my experience, it’s not necessary to use the excerpt box itself unless you want the control. Same as in Inuit Types theme.

    I tried Typekit once and it is hopelessly confusing and slowed down the blog a lot. Plus it only works in some browsers, which seems to defeat and defy the purpose. They claim they will make it more user friendly so we will see. At this stage I would never try it again though I would love to change the chunky header and page tags in Bueno!!!!!

    Posted by Sandra Lee | May 15, 2010, 09:34
  10. @Sandra: Thanks! Obviously staff fixed things (they fixed the tab problem too). I updated the post accordingly, adding the info on proper FI dimensions as well.

    Typekit is very difficult to use if you don’t know CSS. You’ve got to find how the items you wish to change are called in the CSS of the theme you’re using, and these may be called different names in different themes. So Typekit is a mixed blessing: sort of like getting a TV for free, only you must assemble it yourself, without a manual, and you must assemble it in different ways depending on which room you’re going to put it in…

    Posted by Panos | May 15, 2010, 17:10
  11. is there any way to NOT have the featured image show up in the beginning of the blog?

    Posted by littlekitchenthatcould | May 20, 2010, 03:13
  12. You mean while having it in the sidebar? No, unless you set your front to display a static page instead of your latest posts (or unless you buy the CSS upgrade).

    Posted by Panos | May 20, 2010, 10:25
  13. Hi,
    I’m using this theme, and the Featured Posts Bueno is okay but do not show thumbnails.
    The sidebar will display the beginning of each showcased post but don’t thumbnails.
    How to fix it?

    Posted by Desdaemona | May 21, 2010, 19:55
  14. Hi! I’m experienced in wp.com blogs while yours is a self-hosted one, so I can’t really help: different software… The featured image in your latest post as well as your sidebar excerpt produces a question-mark (or the like, depending on the browser). This means the image can’t be found. Maybe you deleted it from your Media Library? If that’s not the case, you’ll have to inquire at http://wordpress.org/support/ .

    Posted by Panos | May 21, 2010, 21:45
  15. It appears that the featured image doesn’t appear on the post page, is that correct?

    Posted by Sandra Lee | May 24, 2010, 05:49
  16. It’s right, the featured image doesn’t appear on the post page and on the sidebar, but the widget works.

    Posted by Desdaemona | May 24, 2010, 12:33
  17. @Sandra Lee: So it appears… (In contrast to Inuit Types and Structure, in which you can select if you want that or not.)

    @Desdaemona: “Doesn’t appear on the sidebar”??? The Featured Posts widget, with thumbnails if you’ve set featured images, is the single distinguishing feature of this theme.

    Posted by Panos | May 24, 2010, 13:25
  18. First, I have found your blog quite useful this past year as a junior WP blogger. Today, I switched to Bueno Theme & have some questions.

    1. You noted that the Featured Image shows at the beginning of it’s post also. Is there anyway to remove the image from the beginning of the post, but keep it in the Featured widget? It is producing an annoying duplicate photo in the posts.

    2. Is there a way to hide pages from appearing in the task bar or in hierarchy form when mouse hovering the parent page? My previous theme was Vigilance & it was possible there.

    Thanks in advance and keep up the good work.

    Posted by TungstenBytes | May 27, 2010, 02:21
  19. You’re welcome and thanks for your kind words!

    1. Strictly speaking, no (unless you buy the CSS upgrade). What you can do is avoid setting featured images at all, and copy-paste the code of the normal image from the html post editor into the Excerpt box, then change the dimensions to turn it into a small thumbnail.

    2. Yes: by deleting their title. In that case, of course, you’ll have to copy the page URL from the address bar of your browser before you delete the title, so you can write a link to that page wherever you want it.

    Posted by Panos | May 27, 2010, 07:12
  20. Panos— You are a hero. A creative and communicative hero.

    -Lorna

    Posted by lornakismet | June 1, 2010, 08:28
  21. @Lorna: You’re grossly exaggerating but thanks!

    Posted by Panos | June 1, 2010, 08:43
  22. can i turn off the larger rectangular image so that the image does not appear twice?

    Posted by ginny | July 10, 2010, 07:23
  23. @ginny: Answered in my May 20 reply above.

    Posted by Panos | July 10, 2010, 11:00
  24. panos! after reading a bunch of the back-and-forths, i’m scared to ask questions in the forums – those guys are predatory!

    my blog is http://www.ch3stnuthiller.wordpress.com – using bueno. i set a photo to be a “featured image” just to see what it looked like – and it looks terrible. and now i can’t figure out how to get rid of it! what do i do?!

    sandy

    Posted by ch3stnuthiller | July 11, 2010, 04:35
  25. @Sandy: You go to the post editor, click the tab “Remove featured image” in the Featured Image module,* click Update. If you see no Featured Image module on the editor screen, click Screen Options (top right) to enable it. Note that featured images are absolutely no use to you if you aren’t interested in displaying “Featured Posts” in the sidebar.

    *”Modules” are the various rounded boxes on the screen (Publish, Categories, etc.).

    I’m a volunteer in the wp.com forum myself, and it’s generally a very helpful place. Could you be more specific as to who “those guys” are or which particular “back-and-forths” gave you such a bad impression?

    PS These posts of mine might be of interest to you:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/improving-bueno-via-typekit/

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2010/04/16/custom-frame-around-slideshow/

    Posted by Panos | July 11, 2010, 07:20
  26. Hi Panos – I’m new to CSS and trying to customize my Bueno Theme (which is awesome!) for my personal blog using a basic trial and error method. One of the many things I can’t understand is why my Gravatar won’t show up on my home page. It is rated “G” and under Discussions I have clicked “Show Avatar” (at your suggestion here). My Gravatar text shows, but not my photo. Any suggestions??

    If you have a moment a couple of other items I can’t seems to get are:

    1) how to take the colored border off of my “featured” photos (and all photos)?
    2) when I click on a featured photo, I hoped it would take me to the individual post page with a larger, complete photo… but there is no photo only the post text :(
    3) how can I move the “description” to go directly under the “site title”? Right now it’s kind of floating at the top of the page.

    Thank you for your help! It’s nice to have a resource like this when just starting out :)

    AK

    Posted by Andrea Kennedy | July 19, 2010, 02:02
  27. 0) My suggestion refers to the Discussion settings, i.e. what happens in comments, while you’re talking about your sidebar: go to Appearance>Widgets, open the Gravatar widget, and make sure you have selected your username in the first dropdown.

    1) To remove the colored bg from featured images, add this to your CSS:
    .post img.attachment-post-thumbnail { border: none; }
    To remove it from all images, add this instead:
    img { border: none !important; }

    2) That’s the way the theme works: featured images show up on your blog front only. If you want them to show up when you view a single post too, you’ll have to insert them as regular images as well (click both “Use as Featured Image” and “Insert into post”).

    3) I don’t know if and how you can do that (I’m no CSS expert!). Better post your question to the CSS section of the wp.com forum: devblog or hallluke or thesacredpath will be able to tell you.

    Posted by Panos | July 19, 2010, 02:35
  28. Thank you so much for your help Panos! First two suggestions worked perfectly!

    I’m still working on the last two. I can’t insert a photo into both the “Featured Image” and “Into Post” without having it come up on my home page twice. I think I will just ask that to the helpers at wp.com forum as well.

    Thank you again!
    AK

    Posted by Andrea Kennedy | July 20, 2010, 21:57
  29. @AK: You’re welcome!

    You’re right about the double image – my mistake. Since you have the CSS upgrade, you can hide the FI from the main page. But I’m seeing you’re not using the “Bueno Featured Posts” widget; so I don’t see why you want to insert FIs.

    Posted by Panos | July 21, 2010, 05:10
  30. @ Panos: I see what you’re saying… Honestly, it’s mostly a looks thing. The FIs post in a wide, cropped image on the home page which – in terms of aesthetics – I like better. I also like the interest they derive by not showing the whole photo. The best examples I can think of are at Dooce.com. When you click on a FI on the home page, it takes you to a page where you see the whole photo and a caption.

    It’s fine if Bueno can’t give me that option – I know I can only edit so much! :) Inserting the image into the post is still a good option, so I’ll just go with that for now.

    If I could ask a couple other questions…

    1) There is a search button that came with Bueno that sits at the top of my page. I’m trying to take away but can’t figure out how. (I added a search widget at the bottom of the page, bc want to keep the top of my page clean and focused on the title and header.)

    2) Lastly, how can I get rid of the “Categories” and “Author” widgets at the bottom of each post. These also came with the Bueno Theme. I am the only author and do not think I’ll be using categories (I use “Tags” and added that widget as a Footer) so these are not relevant. I do need to keep the “Comments” section, though. Any advice?

    I will also try to direct these questions to the wp forum, but am trying to figure out how to direct the questions to one of the pros that you mentioned. Forgive me for my rookie questions!

    Thanks again :)

    Posted by Andrea Kennedy | July 21, 2010, 18:54
  31. You’re welcome!

    1 & 2 combined:
    #topsearch, .post-meta li.categories, li.author { display:none; }

    Posted by Panos | July 21, 2010, 22:22
  32. Panos! As far as I’m concerned you’re a CSS master… Worked perfectly!! Had no idea it was that easy. Might seem small but to me it looks lightyears better. Plus, now I know how to hide items in the future. Thanks so much for your help!! :D

    – the much happier AK

    Posted by Andrea Kennedy | July 22, 2010, 00:30
  33. Thanks Andrea, but our CSS masters are devblog and hallluke. I’m only a beginner in CSS editing. But I’m very experienced in HTML and inline CSS, so that helps.

    ( Having said that, I cannot help recording these monumental non-replies:
    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/lose-unwanted-widgets-keep-featured-images?replies=5 )

    Posted by Panos | July 22, 2010, 05:46
  34. ha! i know! i should have known to check with Panos first :)

    Posted by Andrea Kennedy | July 22, 2010, 07:41
  35. Oh no no, I didn’t mean it that way! I can boast that for anything that has to do with themes and a couple of other things you could check with Panos first, but for 9 out of 10 CSS questions I would direct you to hallluke or devblog or thesacredpath. The problem is that you posted your question in the Widgets section of the forum instead of the CSS section, so Luke didn’t realize you already have the CSS upgrade. (I’m talking about Luke only: Crappiness Engineers are another story…)

    Posted by Panos | July 22, 2010, 08:41
  36. Help!
    I uploaded a featured image with the exact size it needs (490×200), but then the thumbnail in feat post widget came out in the same ratio. UGLY. How can I make it show a cropped version of my featured image?

    Posted by Nisa | September 26, 2010, 21:04
  37. @Nisa: Please link to the blog in question.

    Posted by Panos | September 27, 2010, 06:42
  38. Hi Panos – The Bueno theme is quite lovely but it is helpful to have the benefit of your knowledge so we can tweak it! Thanks for the tips on fixing the double image issue and the various CSS tweaks.

    Posted by Vernessa Taylor | October 5, 2010, 01:39
  39. You’re welcome! I suppose you’ve checked this too:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/improving-bueno-via-typekit/

    Posted by Panos | October 5, 2010, 02:16
  40. Panos…do you have any suggestions on how to change the secondary box colour in the bueno theme? (ie. the box containing the actual posts). I have the CSS upgrade?

    Also if I can extend the width of the post box?

    Sorry for my ignorance- still getting the hang of everthing.

    Appreciate you help in advance,
    Nikita

    Posted by nixsheth | October 7, 2010, 08:13
  41. Hi Nikita,

    Yes you can do both, but please be precise:

    a) At the moment your post has a white background and a very light grey border. You want to change the white bg or the grey border? Or both?

    b) Extend the post width by equally narrowing the sidebar or by extending the whole blog width?

    Posted by Panos | October 7, 2010, 08:50
  42. thanks panos!

    I would like to extend the post width, by narrowing the side the sidebar.

    Is this possible? I have attempted to change the width of the .main & .sidebar but it keeps sending the sidebar to the bottom!

    Overall- i would really just like to extend the area I post my pics & text…\

    thanks again

    Posted by nixsheth | October 11, 2010, 07:09
  43. In that case you basically need to add these selectors:

    #main { width:620px; }
    #sidebar { width:300px; overflow:hidden; }

    Change the numbers, making sure their sum remains 920. I would recommend nothing more extreme than 770 and 150.

    If you use the Featured Posts widget, you’ll also need this:

    #container .widget-bueno-featured li { width: 300px; }

    Change 300 to the same width you use for the sidebar.

    If you use the FP widget with featured images, you’ll need further adjustments – let me know.

    Posted by Panos | October 11, 2010, 13:18
  44. Thanks Panos- worked perfectly.

    One more thing if you dont mind!…how can I (or can I?) move the ‘About me’ heading down under the header?

    http://www.nikitasheth.wordpress.com

    Thanks again for your help!

    Posted by nixsheth | October 14, 2010, 10:18
  45. You’re welcome!

    Literally moving the top nav tab under the header is complicated (I’m not even sure I can do it). But it’s unnecessarily complicated: the reasonable place under the header is the top of the sidebar, so the easy solution is to replace the top nav tab with a sidebar tab, not move it.

    Go to Appearance Menus, create a new menu, add nothing to it, save, select that menu from the dropdown in the Theme Locations module, save. Then go to Appearance>Widgets and simply add the Pages widget to your sidebar. If you don’t like the appearance of that tab, add a Text widget instead and create a link to your About page in it; that link can be styled anyway you like via HTML coding.

    Posted by Panos | October 14, 2010, 13:15
  46. oh wow…the appearance menu worked perfectly! except now it says ‘About me’ twice? is it possible to remove the actual menu heading (i didn’t name is and left it blank as you suggested – so i dont know whhy?)

    If i want to link the text widget do I do that in the CSS style sheet?

    you really have been a great help panos – much appreciated!

    Posted by nixsheth | October 15, 2010, 03:40
  47. You’re welcome.

    a) “Blank” referred to the content of the menu (so that your top nav will display nothing). Nothing to do with the Pages widget, which you titled “About Me” yourself. Go to Appearance>Widgets, open the Pages widget, change the title to “Pages”, save. If you want no title, type a space in the title field, save.

    b) No, you do it in the widget. Coding here:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2009/04/01/codes-useful-for-text-widgets/

    To change the look of the link text, you add the style attribute to the href tag, with the values you want; example here:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2009/07/11/formatting-text-pt-5/

    Posted by Panos | October 15, 2010, 11:49
  48. Have got it working perfectly! It looks great. Once again, a big thank you panos!

    Posted by nixsheth | October 17, 2010, 00:27
  49. @Nikita: Once again, you’re welcome.

    Posted by Panos | October 17, 2010, 19:35
  50. my blog doesnt seem to read the featured images even if i’ve already set it

    Posted by Anonymous | November 5, 2010, 06:31
  51. above commenter was me. Sorry

    Posted by duqs | November 5, 2010, 06:36
  52. @duqs: I need a link to the blog in question.

    Posted by Panos | November 5, 2010, 10:04
  53. I am facing a problem with the featured posts widget. The tags drop down has only one option ‘please select’ where as I have a number of tags. Pls help me. Thanks! :)

    Posted by coffee beans | November 12, 2010, 22:50
  54. Link to the blog in question please.

    Posted by Panos | November 12, 2010, 23:02
  55. Perhaps you’re thinking of post categories? None of your published posts has any tags. Tags in Bueno would show up between each entry and its metadata box:

    Posted by Panos | November 13, 2010, 13:49
  56. Oops! Thanks Panos! :D .. gr8, i’ll fix it right away. :)

    Posted by coffee beans | November 14, 2010, 20:57
  57. @cb: You’re welcome!

    Posted by Panos | November 14, 2010, 23:45
  58. Hello, I would like to use the “featured posts” widget, using thumbnail, but I don’t want the picture set as thumbnail to appear also at the beginning of the post..
    Is there a way to cancel this automatic setting?
    Thanks a lot for your help

    Posted by Romain | December 8, 2010, 23:33
  59. @Romain: Sorry, I can’t help – your blog is self-hosted while my blog is about wp.com blogs.

    Posted by Panos | December 9, 2010, 02:00
  60. Hello @Panos, OK I understand, thanks a lot for your answer..

    Posted by Romain | December 9, 2010, 08:49
  61. Please help me Panos, im trying to create thumbnails for my my featured post on my home page, but when i click onto the post, the image is doubled up :S

    Posted by anothergameblog | December 15, 2010, 02:16
  62. @agb: This post is about Bueno while the blog linked to your username is using Inuit Types (and has no doubled up images). Are you talking about another blog?

    Posted by Panos | December 15, 2010, 03:34
  63. Hello Panos. I asked this on WP forums and was pointed in your direction.

    For some reason, I absolutely cannot find any Featured Image options on my site. When editing a Page, I’ve gone into “Screen Options,” but there’s nothing there. And there is absolutely no mention of “Featured Image” in the Page Attributes module.

    But the WP Support article on Featured Images seems to suggest that Bueno supports Featured Images….

    Any thoughts? Thank you!
    -Christopher

    Posted by Christopher | December 18, 2010, 04:18
  64. Apparently you didn’t read my post. FIs in Bueno work in posts, not pages.

    The Support doc is misleading. Here’s which themes support FIs and what the result is in each case:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/featured-images/

    Posted by Panos | December 18, 2010, 05:01
  65. Hi, is there a way I can limit the number of featured posts down to 1? I read you can do so on “The morning after” theme, but can’t find the way on “Bueno”.

    http://www.woothemes.com/support/theme-documentation/the-morning-after/

    Thanks!

    Posted by lulu | January 15, 2011, 22:53
  66. @lulu: Do you have a wp.com blog or a self-hosted blog? (As my tagline says, my blog is about wp.com blogs: the page you linked to is irrelevant to us.)

    If you’re talking about a wp.com blog, then there’s no such direct option: you can achieve what you want indirectly, by creating a special “featured post” tag, selecting that tag in the upper dropdown of the BFP widget, and assigning that tag to one post at a time only.

    Posted by Panos | January 16, 2011, 06:43
  67. Oops, self hosted. Then again, I was looking for something automatic. Thanks!

    Posted by lulu | January 16, 2011, 08:51
  68. You’re welcome.

    (wp.org vs wp.com means different software and different versions of the themes: maybe your version of Bueno does have that option, but I just can’t know or check.)

    Posted by Panos | January 17, 2011, 07:29
  69. Hi Panos,

    I want to add a header image to Bueno but I can´t find this option anywhere in the panel. Could you help me find it?

    Thanks!

    Posted by Arturo | February 7, 2011, 03:56
  70. Hi!
    I have one question about the Bueno theme! If i insert content with the “Woo themes shortcode” button in the editor the content won’t show on my first page, it only shows on the post page. Why is that? How can i make it show on my blogs firstpage?

    Thank you!

    /Patrik

    Posted by Patrik | February 22, 2011, 10:48
  71. I use the Featured Posts widget, however I have never been able to get the images to appear along with the post excerpts! :-(

    I have checked the Screen Options and Featured Image is enabled. I have also selected Images from my gallery as Featured Images for each post.

    Please help! I really want to get the image thumbnails working as well!

    http://www.sweetasnzgirl.wordpress.com

    Posted by sweetasnzgirl | June 19, 2011, 00:36
  72. “I have checked the Screen Options and Featured Image is enabled.”
    That has nothing to do with how the theme works: it only allows you to see the Featured Image module on the post editor screen.

    “I have also selected Images from my gallery as Featured Images for each post.”
    As my post says, if you set a featured image to a post, the image will also show up at the beginning of the post on the main posts page (between the title and the actual content of the post). If you check http://sweetasnzgirl.wordpress.com/page/3/ , you’ll see that no such image shows up for your current featured posts. So you haven’t set featured images to your featured posts (if you edit each one of those posts and check the Featured Image module, I bet there’s no image in it).

    To set a featured image, you click the Add an Image tool of the post editor, click Select Files (to upload the image from your computer) or Media Library (if the image has already been uploaded to your blog), then click “Use as featured image”, then click Update (post).

    Posted by Panos | June 19, 2011, 01:20
  73. is it possible to have more than 5 in the Featured Posts? thanks

    Posted by Anonymous | September 24, 2011, 20:36
  74. No. If it was, there would be such an option in the widget itself (or, less likely, in Appearance > Theme Options), and there would be mention of it in my post.

    Posted by Panos | September 24, 2011, 21:40
  75. Even if there was an option for more than 5, I personally wouldn’t recommend it. It would only pollute your site with more stuff, diminish the value of each individual “featured post,” and it would seem a bit cocky. 5 is the perfect number. Maybe even 3…

    Posted by Christopher | September 24, 2011, 21:44
  76. Agree, although it wouldn’t hurt to have the option (as you do in the Recent Posts or Recent Comments widgets).

    You can make it less than 5 by using the tag option.

    Posted by Panos | September 24, 2011, 21:54
  77. Hi there, I just changed my blog theme to Bueno. The majority of the theme settings are great but I don’t like how the ‘featured image’ appears above each post on the home page. It is just duplicating the image that is in the actual post. I don’t have the ‘featured posts’ widget activated but this is still happening.

    I’ve seen a few Bueno blogs which do not have the ‘featured image’ on the home page above each post such as this: http://blusherandblogging.com/

    How do I remove these images from appearing on the home page at the top of each post?

    Thanks!

    [Username link removed - P.]

    Posted by YFP | November 5, 2011, 14:20
  78. You can start by linking to your blog and correcting your username link, as the URL it links to isn’t valid.

    Posted by Panos | November 5, 2011, 14:35
  79. Apologies!

    Posted by YFP | November 5, 2011, 14:49
  80. No apologies needed, but now no help can be given either! See point 1 here:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/comment-guidelines/

    Posted by Panos | November 5, 2011, 14:53

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Select a WordPress.com theme 2 « onecoolsitebloggingtips - May 21, 2010

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,471,220 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
