you're reading:
Color changes, Excerpt, Featured image, Featured post, Images, Posts per page, Themes

Featured posts/images in Inuit Types

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

The blog front in Inuit Types normally displays the beginnings of your latest posts; number of posts set in Settings > Reading > “Blog pages show at most [ ] posts”.

The most recent posts can be highlighted as “Featured Posts”; number of posts selected in Appearance > Theme Options > “Featured Post Entries”.

The number of posts displayed on the blog front can coincide with the number of highlighted featured posts or not; for example, you can display 6 posts on the blog front, all of them highlighted, or the most recent 2 of them highlighted, or none of them highlighted.

Featured posts display as titles only, with a colored background – identical to the background color of sidebar items; color selected in Appearance > Theme Options > “Color scheme”.

Note 1: The highlighting shows up on the blog front only, not on the main posts page if you have set your front to display a static page instead of your latest posts.
Note 2: To display normal posts as titles only, type a space in the text box of the Excerpt module (if you see no Excerpt module, click Screen Options to activate it).

Featured and/or normal posts can show up in one or two columns: Appearance > Theme Options > tick or untick “One Column Featured Posts” and/or “One Column Normal Posts”.

Featured and/or normal posts can display a “featured image”: an image that shows up on the main posts page without necessarily showing up on the actual complete single post as well. The option is accessed in the post editor screen by clicking the Add an Image button, or the “Set featured image” tab of the Featured Image module (if you see no Featured Image module, click Screen Options to activate it). For a new image, select from computer, upload; for a previously uploaded image, click the Media Library tab, locate image, click Show; then (in either case) click “Use as featured image”, wait till it saves, close box without clicking the “Insert into Post” tab if you don’t want the image on the complete post.

Now, it seems that themes with special features should come with some special instructions too… Users who started using this theme complain that their featured images are distorted [See Update at end of post]. What’s the deal?

Deal is, in both normal and featured posts the image must cover the whole area allotted to it, and that area has a fixed width and height; so smaller images are stretched, larger ones are cropped. To display a complete, uncropped and undistorted featured image, you need to create it in specific dimensions:

for one-column featured posts, width 600 pixels, maximum height 250 pixels;
for two-column featured posts, width 278 pixels, maximum height 150 pixels;
for normal posts, maximum 90×75 pixels.

There’s one more option: Appearance > Theme Options > “Single Post Featured Image”. Ticking this will make the featured image show up as a “Full Sized” image at the top of the post when you view the complete post alone.
Usefulness: displaying a full-size image at the beginning of the complete post as well as a thumbnail on the blog front without having to upload two images or two versions of the same image.
Drawbacks: a) the thumbnail will display a small part of the image – but that’s ok if you think of the thumbnail as a teaser; b) the image will vanish if at some point you decide to switch to practically any another theme.

Update Oct. 2011: Changed – smaller images won’t show up at all (see my post On the recent featured image issues).

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Discussion

67 thoughts on “Featured posts/images in Inuit Types

  1. Thanks for the clear explanation of the theme specific options in Intuit Types. This was really needed

    I have 3 questions:
    1) Are the screen options checked on the Edit Post Page for that particular post alone or are they applied globally? Are some of these the same options that appear under Appearance – Theme options?

    2) Can you explain the ‘Single Post Featured Image’ option under Appearance – Theme options. What I’ve gathered is that when you set a thumbnail (set featured image) and have this feature clicked it will automatically place an image that is 2.39:1 aspect ratio (also known as anamorphic), I believe 600x251px, in your posts. Is this correct? Since this is the first WP.com theme with this feature, if you change to a new theme without this feature, the photos will no longer appear in the posts. Do I understand this correctly?

    Thanks very much!

    Posted by Sandra Lee | April 27, 2010, 00:08
  2. Thanks for the in-depth look at this theme. The lack of documentation leads to frustration. I would certainly appreciate it if the WordPress.com Theme team did provide clear and informative documentation for all themes and their various options. The little summaries are okay but they do not provide the detail we bloggers need.

    Posted by timethief | April 27, 2010, 02:57
  3. @Sandra Lee: You’re welcome!

    1) Screen Options means dashboard customization (see here too) – completely unrelated to Theme Options. By itself, ticking or unticking each screen option has no effect on the post: it determines which modules are visible on the particular screen, so that you have access to functions you need and so that you don’t unnecessarily clutter the screen with functions you don’t need.

    2) Oh, the ‘Single Post Featured Image’ option… I forgot to cover that when I wrote the post (because the post was an expansion of a reply in the forum, and the question didn’t include that option): will update, thanks for pointing out!

    Yes, selecting that option will automatically display a “featured image” at the top of the post (when you view the complete post), and yes, if you switch to any other theme except Twenty Ten the image will vanish. You only have the dimensions a bit off: they are 594×250. So if you select that option you need to upload an image in those dimensions and be content with a thumbnail that displays only a small part of it on the blog front.

    @tt: Yes, I think all this tricky stuff is beyond the average blogger, so it should be documented somewhere. (Enter yours truly…)

    Halluke is half right: adding the CSS snippet he provided will change the dimensions of the thumbnail, but won’t have an adverse effect on the quality of the image: you’ll just have to upload images in those dimensions instead of the default ones.

    Posted by Panos | April 27, 2010, 09:19
  4. Hey,

    i use the german wordpress version and in my screen options i can’t activate the Featured Image module.
    On my firtst page no image are displayed. the thumbnails in normal posts and the featured posts don’t work.
    Any suggestions?

    Thank you,
    Julia

    Posted by Julia Org | April 27, 2010, 14:01
  5. @Julia: In a wp.com blog, if you set the interface language to German, “Featured image” is “Featured image”. But you have a self-hosted blog. I’m afraid I can’t help with that: the software is different, and I have no experience with it. You need to ask here:
    http://wordpress.org/support/

    Posted by Panos | April 27, 2010, 14:17
  6. Thanks! You have a great grasp on all this.

    I was playing around with Twenty Ten last night and see that the ‘featured post’ image appeared in the header of that post, which i understand is what is supposed to happen when you use that feature in that theme. I wasn’t trying to use the feature, just used a thumbnail so I don’t know how it happened. It was squished and distorted looking, which makes sense that a square photo would look that way in a header.

    I don’t know how use of this feature would impact your featured posts if one were to switch from Inuit Themes to Twenty Ten — might they all appear in the respective header, I wonder….

    I’m impressed that WP is bringing these new features and more professional looks. It seems that there may be potential kinks or limits when changing to new themes though.

    Posted by Sandra Lee | April 27, 2010, 21:13
  7. In 2010 a featured image will show up in place of the default header image when you view a single complete post or a static page. Dimensions have to be 940×198.

    Using featured images and switching between themes that sport the option means you’ll have to upload new versions of the images, since the proper dimensions in each theme are different.

    And now we’ve got yet another new theme, Structure, with a very questionable idea. In Inuit Types and 2010 you can use featured images if you wish; in Structure you have to. There’s a huge area between the top navigation and the latest post, designed to highlight the latest post from a selected category by displaying the title and the featured image of that post. Don’t want that? An empty 620×380 grey box…

    (Post updated to include the “Single Post Featured Image”, by the way.)

    Posted by Panos | April 27, 2010, 22:53
  8. As always, much appreciated when you start digging at something. You don’t let go until you’ve figured it out. :)

    FWIW-Since the blog I’m using with this theme is a photoblog, I see the “featured image” on the blog front as a teaser for the larger image in the post. If you link the larger image in the Post to an attachment page, you can post a very large image since there’s no sidebar.

    And yes I haven’t forgotten about the issue of image quality (or the lack thereof) when allowing WordPress.com to resize your larger image to fit the theme and am therefore rethinking what to do about Attachment pages (that aren’t in a Gallery, of course).

    Changing over to a new theme is not painless, not by a long shot. This one is the first one that’s worth the headaches, IMHO.

    Posted by Jennifer | April 27, 2010, 22:54
  9. I like digging…

    Teaser: good point – hope you don’t mind I added that to the post!

    Posted by Panos | April 28, 2010, 08:32
  10. Gladly. :)

    Posted by Jennifer | April 28, 2010, 19:23
  11. As of today, May 4th, the Featured Image thumbnail clicks through to the full size image if you have enabled the “Single Post Featured Image” option under Appearance>>Theme Options

    Posted by Jennifer | May 4, 2010, 08:28
  12. Excuse me, that should have read “…the Featured Image thumbnail *in your post* clicks through to the full size image…”

    Posted by Jennifer | May 4, 2010, 17:48
  13. Thanks! (Want me to merge the two comments?) But I think it clicks through to the complete post, regardless of the SPFI option.

    Posted by Panos | May 4, 2010, 22:49
  14. Perhaps I’m not being clear. If you set the Featured Image thumbnail and also opt for “Single Post Featured Image”, at the top of your complete Post a partial photo (594×250 pixels) is displayed. What changed was previously you only got that partial photo but no way to click through to see the full image. Now it does.

    Did that explanation make it better or worse?! LOL

    Posted by Jennifer | May 5, 2010, 00:29
  15. Better, better! (I thought you meant the thumbnail on the homepage while you meant when viewing a single complete post…)

    But displaying a partial image in the single-post view doesn’t seem reasonable to me, so I ‘ll stick to my original recommendation that the FIs must be 594×250.

    Posted by Panos | May 5, 2010, 00:55
  16. Well, I could see using a partial image if written content in a Post was the main course, but the featured image added to spice it up a bit. :)

    Pardon me, must make breakfast! Suddenly I’m hungry!

    Posted by Jennifer | May 5, 2010, 11:01
  17. Pano
    Thank you for such a thorough insight in the Inuit Type, I have been using, and it has really grown on me!

    All the best….

    P.S. This is an awesome resource, it’s in my blogroll!

    Posted by joer223 | May 16, 2010, 22:09
  18. greetings
    i’m so glad that i saw this site. that topic was so great. thanks again i saved this article.
    are you going to write similar posts?

    [Name link removed - P.]

    Posted by Mark | May 16, 2010, 23:54
  19. Sorry, but “Mark” looks like our favorite Hawaiian meat: spam!
    delete this panos, you don’t need such help…………

    Posted by Tess | May 17, 2010, 00:49
  20. @joer223: You’re welcome!

    @Tess: “Looks”, madam? Nay, it is!

    Posted by Panos | May 17, 2010, 02:29
  21. Aye, sir! Correct.
    Here is mine for today:
    “When you invite the kind of person people like to eat, and are one of the things you fear most is that you wash the sheets after all.”
    ~~~for my post about “Ramen Stock”
    —for which I got a few ping-backs from soupy sites selling lucrative financial information: stock is stock?

    So for a kettle of pork bones, I think I could become rich?!!!

    I’m not sure what to do about those sort of spammers/aggregators? They take my first line, which is a hidden text link to my site, or some take that first line plus the sentence after that, some take the top text widget about the recipe book I started with…

    Apologies that this is off topic: I’ve been on ‘vacation’ and my mind still is…
    no worry to delete these posts na 2 ur post T

    Posted by Tess | May 17, 2010, 06:16
  22. I don’t think you can do anything about those aggregators, other than making sure your feed setting is set to Summary.

    “When you invite the kind of person people like to eat, and are one of the things you fear most is that you wash the sheets after all.” Like it says in Münchhausen (the movie), are these words famous? (And like it doesn’t say, are they English?)

    Posted by Panos | May 17, 2010, 06:37
  23. Panos I apologize for the off topic comment, but I’ve had you added to my blogroll at Blogging Perspectives Daily blog, as well as
    my personal story blog Personal Reflections From The Underground
    on my subterranean blog. I hope that’s ok….I should’ve sought have sought your Ok first.

    joer223

    Posted by joer223 | May 17, 2010, 16:35
  24. @joer223: Thanks, but you’re being overcautious! Your blogroll is your choice and your responsibility: it’s a list of links to blogs that you find interesting or useful, and/or to blogs that you think your visitors may find interesting or useful. You don’t need the other blogger’s permission to add a blog to your blogroll, and normally it’s flattering to the other blogger.

    Posted by Panos | May 17, 2010, 17:39
  25. (feed=Summary: yes)
    I have filed DMCA notices when pictures or posts are copied, but when it’s only the first line or two…

    Sultan: Have you any famous last words?
    Baron Munchausen: Not yet.
    Sultan: “Not yet”? Is that famous?

    Posted by Tess | May 17, 2010, 18:48
  26. Hi, i am using inuit types 1.6 version and i don’t have the facility to activate featured post image or single post image and pictures are not displayed on the home page as part of the posts. Any idea what to do?

    Posted by Nana | July 1, 2010, 12:28
  27. Hi. If you’re using IT 1.6 then you’ve got a self-hosted blog, in which case I’m afraid I can’t help: I’m experienced in wp.com blogs, not self-hosted ones – different software! You’ll have to ask at http://wordpress.org/support/ .

    Posted by Panos | July 1, 2010, 17:54
  28. Hi
    Just wanted to say thank you to everyone who contributed to the post and the comments. You all just helped me figure out how to make my second blog look great in Inuit.

    Posted by Susan Wright-Boucher | July 9, 2010, 19:27
  29. @Susan: You’re welcome!

    Posted by Panos | July 9, 2010, 21:20
  30. I have a self-hosted blog and I cannot, for the life of me, make the featured images show up on the blog front. Even after adding the featured image plugin into features.php (originally, I didn’t even have the option), I can now give each post a featured image, but nothing changes on the blog homepage. Help, anyone?

    Posted by sbteaches | July 22, 2010, 20:59
  31. Sorry, my blog is about wp.com blogs, not self-hosted ones: different software. You need to ask here:
    http://wordpress.org/support/

    Posted by Panos | July 23, 2010, 01:22
  32. Hey guys, what do you do if you have a post that you just want to appear in the normal section? Not every post in my blog is worthy of “feature” status.

    For example, right now in my blog
    savedbythechrist.wordpress.com

    I have a poll that is taking primetime spot and pushing my actual feature posts into the normal area.

    Posted by savedbythechrist | August 12, 2010, 11:27
  33. “Featured posts” in Inuit Types are nothing more than your topmost posts. If you don’t want to have your latest post(s) highlighted that way, you can either go to Appearance > Theme Options and set the number of “Featured Post Entries” to 0, or mark the latest ‘important’ posts as Stickies (then make the number of “Featured Post Entries” equal to the number of Stickies).

    In case you’re not familiar with the Sticky option:
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/post-visibility/

    Posted by Panos | August 12, 2010, 16:05
  34. Panos. You’re awesome. Thanks!

    Posted by savedbythechrist | August 13, 2010, 12:29
  35. @savedbythechrist: You’re welcome!

    Posted by Panos | August 14, 2010, 02:00
  36. I have been trying to get my blog to show a thumbnail photo on the homepage and a photo on the post page.
    I have tried to select
    “Single Post Featured Image” option under Appearance>>Theme Options
    as instructed but I cannot find this setting ANYWHERE. I am using wordpress.org I am not sure if this makes a difference. I have tried just every option that I can think of with no luck.

    I would like it to look like this http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2010/04/15/new-theme-inuit-types/

    Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

    Posted by msyogaji | November 6, 2010, 12:04
  37. “I am using wordpress.org I am not sure if this makes a difference.”
    It usually does: different software, different theme versions. My blog (and my experience) is limited to wp.com blogs, so I’m afraid I can’t help. You can ask at the wp.org forum.

    Posted by Panos | November 7, 2010, 09:39
  38. Hi, are you still there? I’m testing the Inuit Type theme in a private blog where I imported the content of my current wp.com blog.
    It seems to work fine (even the featured image of the last post).
    But I can’t get the thumbnails in the two columns on the front page.
    Do I have to set the thumbnail for each post image manually (I tried, but unsuccessfully).
    As I’m a caricaturist and editorial cartoonist, this is a crucial feature for me.
    Thanks in advance for any help!

    Posted by Bob Row | December 20, 2010, 11:54
  39. All there is to know about this is explained in paragraph 7 of my post: you get a thumbnail on the front page if you upload an image from your computer and set it as a “featured image”. I don’t have anything else to say unless you temporarily switch to the middle privacy option and give me the blog URL so I can check what’s wrong.

    Posted by Panos | December 20, 2010, 17:33
  40. Of course!, what a silly question! As I imported my old posts, the images weren’t “featured” yet. Now I can work in the move to the Inuit Type theme and do the fine tune of the widgets.
    Thanks a lot!!

    Posted by Bob Row | December 21, 2010, 02:09
  41. You’re welcome. And you got it: won’t work if the images are stored elsewhere.

    Posted by Panos | December 21, 2010, 21:25
  42. @Panos
    You may be interested to read the post titled “Broken links” on my personal blog as it’s related to this Inuit Types and featured images subject. http://thistimethisspace.com/
    TiTi

    Posted by timethief | February 22, 2011, 07:03
  43. Thanks, and hope you don’t mind I turned your blog name into a live link!

    Posted by Panos | February 24, 2011, 01:47
  44. I have the same problem, how get an image on the main/ front page? I don’t have a Featured Image box under tags. I had this option and disappeared when I migrated to the wp.com –>> wp.org

    What to do?

    Posted by diegooli | March 11, 2011, 19:13
  45. I’m afraid I don’t understand your question: are you talking about a wp.com or a wp.org blog? If it’s the latter, I can’t help.

    Posted by Panos | March 12, 2011, 00:05
  46. SUPER FEEDBACK everyone, thanks so much. Had features and featured images working on INUIT TYPES as desired within 30 minutes of reading the post – which by the way, I received a link to in < 30 minutes.

    Great community. I shall be back.

    Chris

    Posted by sourcepov | June 27, 2011, 02:13
  47. You’re welcome Chris. Posting in the wp.com forum doesn’t guarantee you’ll get a reply in < 30 minutes, but it sure means a faster reply compared to Support tickets, often a better reply as well.

    Posted by Panos | June 27, 2011, 04:25
  48. Forgive me if the answer is somewhere here and I missed it, but I looked and couldn’t find the solution to my problem: setting featured images and having them display on the main page works just fine for me, but the search results page and “browsing” page (when clicking on an Archive month) do not show any featured images, they are just title and text.

    So, how do I get make the Inuit Types theme display featured images on these ancillary pages?

    Posted by squidthompson | September 15, 2011, 06:35
  49. The answer is indirectly found in the post, since the post says that featured images show up on the main posts page and optionally on the single post view. If they also showed up –or could be made to show up– on archive pages, I would have mentioned that too. (Well, assuming I’m a thorough tester and writer!)

    More clearly put in my general post on featured images:
    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/featured-images/

    If you wish to display thumbnails on your main posts page as well as your archive pages, then instead of setting a featured image you must insert a thumbnail the regular way, cut its code from the HTML editor and paste it into the Excerpt module of the editor screen. But this will work for normal posts only, not “featured” posts – in case you’re using that option (a link to your blog is always helpful when you ask a question).

    Posted by Panos | September 15, 2011, 07:18
  50. Ah, I see what you are saying about the Excerpt feature — that puts an image on the “browsing” pages like I wanted. But it seems rather cumbersome to go back and do that for every post. So basically you are saying it is not possible for Inuit to do this automatically with the featured images, right? I’m guessing there is a way to make this happen much more easily if I could edit the CSS, but I don’t feel like paying for that. Do you know if there is another theme which will do this automatically?

    BTW, website: http://betabridgealmostdaily.wordpress.com/

    (I thought that since I left the comment with my WordPress login, that would link you to my site, but apparently not.)

    Posted by squidthompson | September 15, 2011, 16:51
  51. • CSS editing modifies the appearance of a theme (fonts, colors, sizes etc.), not how a theme works.

    • See here which themes do what with featured images:
    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/featured-images/

    • See point 2 here on how to link your username to your blog:
    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/comment-guidelines/

    Posted by Panos | September 15, 2011, 18:33
  52. Yes, I noticed the pingback, thanks.

    Posted by Panos | September 23, 2011, 22:29
  53. Greetings, I have http://cheshmandaz.org. Installed Inuit but on the front page’s summaries, thumbnails are not displayed. Anybody can help? Thanks a lot, Cheshmandaz

    Posted by Cheshmandaz | September 27, 2011, 21:49
  54. Well, read my post! You need to set a featured image to your posts.

    Posted by Panos | September 28, 2011, 03:51
  55. Erg! My featured images aren’t distorted, they just don’t display at all. I’ve spent hours trying to figure this out and my unruly high school journalism students aren’t going to figure it out, they are just going to complain about how the display page isn’t showing featured images.

    AroundTheNest.com

    Posted by Mariah Hibarger | November 17, 2011, 22:26
  56. My blog is showing 3 faint horizontal lines between the heading and the posts. I think this might have something to do with my “featured post” settings, but I can’t tell how to make them go away. Can someone help? Thank you!
    http://www.ashaweb.wordpress.com

    Posted by heatherwgibbons | November 18, 2011, 18:18
  57. I’m not seeing such a thing in any of the three browsers I use: I’m only seeing one grey divider line, which is normal. What browser are you using?

    Posted by Panos | November 19, 2011, 03:27
  58. I’m using your Inuit Types 1.6 theme on my own hosted WP. Works great, except I don’t know how to display the larger images on the home page, as shown in the screenshot of your theme (under Current Theme). They look like fuller sizes of the thumbnail images with the posts on the homepage but can’t figure out how to get these images (or any other images) to display above the posts (and below the Intro area). I’ve already adjusted the images to no more than 278px wide and 150px high.

    Posted by Amy | January 31, 2012, 05:28
  59. @Amy: “Your” Inuit Types? I’m not a WP employee, and this is my personal blog, not an official site. Moreover, it’s a blog about wp.COM blogs – see point 1 here:
    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/comment-guidelines/

    Posted by Panos | January 31, 2012, 11:44
  60. @Pandos, I hadn’t seen the guidelines, and I apologize for butting in where I shouldn’t be, but I’ve been unable to find documentation for the theme on how to do this, and was hoping some one here may be able to offer information on how it is done. -Amy

    Posted by Amy | January 31, 2012, 15:13
  61. I understand, but I’m experienced in wp.com blogs only: I can help with just about anything that has to do with them, but self-hosted blogs have different software and different versions of the themes (with which I’m not familiar): you need to ask at the wp.org forum.

    Posted by Panos | January 31, 2012, 16:15

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Clarity on Inuit Types Theme « Always Well Within - April 27, 2010

  2. Pingback: Select a WordPress.com theme 2 « onecoolsitebloggingtips - May 21, 2010

  3. Pingback: Como marcar “featured post” en el tema Inuit Types de Wordpress « Oficio Gráfico - September 23, 2011

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,258,942 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
