you're reading:
Html & inline css codes, Links, Themes

Links in Neutra

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Seems we’re having a sudden surge of new themes that must include at least one weird idea… Latest gem is Neutra – see what happens with links:

The thing is pale, so enjoy a
close-up of the (uncut) symbol:

In most cases it’s better to have your links open in a new browser window, so that visitors don’t leave your page when clicking on a link. You can eliminate the blur and the extra space by changing this (in the html editor):

<a href=[etc.]

to this:

<a style="background:none;margin-right:-25px;" href=[etc.]

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Please don’t paste code in comments – see comment guidelines.
Discussion

4 thoughts on “Links in Neutra

  1. Does this mean I have to make this html change every time I include a link?

    Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I know very little about html. I do know there is the code box where the changes go, so I am not totally clueless. (I’ve managed to make a few html changes in widget and in the alert box when I had vigilance.)

    Thank you.
    I’m finding the Neutra nuances, but overall, I still find it to be an elegant theme.

    Posted by Sandra Lee | March 31, 2010, 23:06
  2. Yes, it means you’ll have to take care of every single link, as long as you prefer links that open in a new window (which is good practice), and as long as you don’t like that space after them (which I find quite unnatural when the links are normal words within the flow of a paragraph, like the ones you have in your latest post – thanks for the reference to my blog, by the way!).

    Instead of creating the link via the button of the editor then changing its code, you can save the whole model in a simple text file and paste it into the html editor each time you need it. Complete model is:

    <a style="background:none;margin-right:-25px;" href="URL HERE" target="_blank">TEXT HERE</a>

    The only way to get rid of that idiosyncrasy once for all is via the paid CSS upgrade.

    Posted by Panos | April 1, 2010, 01:46
  3. I’ve successfully accomplished this once now, so sure I can replicate. Thanks so much! A bit of a pain…but I shall not complain (too much!).

    Posted by Sandra Lee | April 3, 2010, 10:56
  4. You’re welcome!

    Posted by Panos | April 6, 2010, 12:21

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,519,874 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
