you're reading:
Background color, Color changes, Html & inline css codes, Images, Themes

Background and tables in Dark Wood

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Dark Wood is the latest addition to wp.com themes. Most notable feature: it allows you to upload a background image (without resorting to html workarounds that, as we’ve been threatened, will soon be blocked).

Not as good as it sounds, though: your choices will be extremely limited, because of the theme’s color palette.

(Examination question for design students: text in posts and widgets is cream; links in posts are pink, and so is the tag cloud; blog title is black; tagline, post date, author e.o. are light grey; bg to blog title and tagline is a yellow ochre transparency; bg to top navigation is a dark grey transparency; bg to main blog area is a light brown transparency; post titles are turquoise; widget titles are melon; list bullets are green; calendar is chocolate-brown & maroon-brown & very dark brown; search box is, well, turd-brown; plus you’ve got a pink & green & yellow flower before post titles, plus three symbols in the post metadata – an orange & white one, a blue & and ochre & brown one, and a light blue one; find appropriate background colors…)

Anyway… There’s a problem with tables: an html table (in a post or a page or a text widget) will stick out sorely, because table cells adopt a chocolate-brown background.

To override that, add this into each td tag:

style="background:transparent;"

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Please don’t paste code in comments – see comment guidelines.
Discussion

12 thoughts on “Background and tables in Dark Wood

  1. HTML workarounds will soon be blocked? More details, please! I rely heavily on tables to position images in my posts.

    Posted by GrokSurf | March 24, 2010, 21:00
  2. I have this theme up on my test blog and have spent ages fooling about with it.

    I tried inserting a plain white square (tlied) background and what I discovered is that there is a tan colored overlay that distorts the true underlying color of any background image I insert. :(

    As I am visually impaired using this theme means that unless I do insert a dark color background I cannot see the font in the posts or the font in the links that appear in the widget contents. I can only see the Post Titles and the Widget Headers. :(

    Without doubt the fact that this theme can have a different background inserted is undermined by the affects of the tan colored overlay. My designed friends say that Staff can change that translucent overlay color and make it clear and colorless. If that’s done then the accessibility and consequently, availability of the theme to those who want to have light colored backgrounds will expand the number of potential users of the theme. If not then we who lack perfect vision will be left out in the cold – again.

    BTW I’m noticing the new themes being introduced are by and large “masculine” in appearance. A couple of years ago Matt started a thread asking for “giry theme suggestions” but enough though there were GPL theme suggestions made (no hidden or sponsored links) we still lack “girlie themes”. See > http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/girly-themes?replies=171 Then there were very few Staff now there are many … but since then other threads on the same topic that have been posted have been closed. :(

    SIGH

    Posted by timethief | March 24, 2010, 21:52
  3. @timethief
    Pleased to see that you don’t let the problems with your eyesight affect your desire to help others.
    Thanks for the tip in the forum about Polls, I’ll follow up on those suggestions.

    Posted by honorarynewfie | March 24, 2010, 23:08
  4. Have tried the transparent background in the td tag, and it does the job, but it’s a hell of a thing to have to do every time when you use tables as much as I do to present pictures. I guess it’s just telling me that it’s about time I paid out for the CSS upgrade option.
    While I was checking that out on my “test” blog I spotted a couple more annoyances with Dark Wood….
    1) Smilies (emoticons) also have a large, square, brown background to them.
    2) The post I tested it on has a scroll bar in it… which in Dark Wood (and using Google Chrome) displays as bright yellow with a gaudy blue border and slider and, unbelievably, when one hovers the cursor over the body of the slide bar it turns to a mixture of yellow, black and green, rather like a strange bar graph ! YUK !!!
    I think I’ll give this one a miss…..

    Posted by honorarynewfie | March 24, 2010, 23:09
  5. @GS: No need to worry. My remark had nothing to do with ‘regular’ html in a post or a page – only with codes via which you can insert elements that would normally require the paid CSS upgrade. What will probably be blocked is this and only this:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2009/10/26/position-absolute-pt-1/

    See here and here.

    @tt: The principal problem with this theme isn’t the overlay, it’s the light-colored text and the impossible assortment of so many different colors: these two combined make bg color choices extremely limited, as I said in the post – no matter if one’s eyesight is perfect or not.

    @hn: Scrollbar is ok in Safari and Firefox, so I guess that’s a Chrome problem (but it may also be that the designer didn’t test the theme with all major browsers). Smilies, on the other hand, are definitely wrong: they show up the way regular images do in this theme. I suppose I might find a way around that if I experimented enough, but I don’t think I’ll bother.

    In all, I would say that this theme seems to be an elaborate design but actually its designer is of questionable skill and questionable taste.

    Posted by Panos | March 25, 2010, 00:25
  6. PS Up to some time ago I would send a support ticket pointing out problems and suggesting corrections (I’ve done this repeatedly, and I’m responsible for quite a few minor improvements). After numerous strange phenomena in the forum (that I needn’t recount here), I’m no longer willing to do that anymore. Mistakes in a newly introduced theme? WP’s problem, not mine.

    Posted by Panos | March 25, 2010, 01:43
  7. Did you/I miss the announcement about this theme:
    “NotesIL by Jordan Lewinsky and Automattic
    Two Columns theme with different color schemes. Based on the original design of http://notes.co.il, built on top of the sandbox theme”
    ?

    Posted by Tess | March 31, 2010, 02:04
  8. @Tess: I usually don’t pay attention to such announcements. But I change themes all the time, so I keep an eye on the number: NotesIL is the most recent addition (86th theme, right after Neutra). Haven’t scrutinized it yet!

    Posted by Panos | March 31, 2010, 02:17
  9. Lol, you are usually far ahead of when I notice a new thing @wp. If something happens, I see it here.
    Just looking to see what I could change to if/when I lose the customization: pay the $ (best option), self-host (maybe better), switch to a different theme (easy).
    Did not mean to bother you! There are so many other things in this world…

    Posted by Tess | March 31, 2010, 03:00
  10. You’re not bothering me: what’s bothering me is having to update all those posts again after I did it a few days ago for Neutra and a few days before that for Dark Wood! If they keep adding themes at this rate, I’ll have to change my tactics…

    As for the “if/when”, let’s be optimistic and hope it remains an “if”! Besides, by the time it happens (if it happens), maybe there’ll be some nice new themes to choose from.

    Posted by Panos | March 31, 2010, 03:56
  11. I hope they dont block it. Its a great theme. I really enjoy it. Whats about colors, its not so much a problem for me. Thanks for insight.

    Posted by Trepid | October 11, 2010, 13:04
  12. @Trepid: No need to worry. The “blocking” I refer to in the intro has to do with a special HTML code you can use to add a background when the theme doesn’t provide a background option. So nothing to with Dark Wood or its bg.

    (At the time the post was written, DW was the first theme that featured a bg option; at roughly the same time the owner of WP surprised us by announcing they would kill some types of code that allow you to add extra things. Hence the strange intro of the post – rather incomprehensible to those that don’t closely follow the history of that person’s caprices.)

    Posted by Panos | October 11, 2010, 21:33

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,631,515 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
