you're reading:
Pages (static), Themes

Date on static pages

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

In all wp.com themes, posts display the publication date – goes along with the very idea of a blog. Static pages, on the other hand, sit outside the chronological structure of a blog; so as a rule they don’t display the publication date.

There are some exceptions, though:

• In Andrea, Chaos Theory, Duotone, Fleur de Lys, Garland, Girl in Green, Green Marinée, Iceburgg, Jentri, Monotone, Next Saturday, Rounded, Spring Loaded, and Toni, the date shows up.

• In Monochrome the default is no date, put you can change it if you wish (page editor > “Attributes” module > “Template” dropdown).

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Discussion

29 thoughts on “Date on static pages

  1. Boy am I ever glad you are willing to do this work on testing all the themes. It seems I’m learning new things about them every day. :)

    Posted by timethief | February 18, 2010, 07:36
  2. Thanks – I’m learning too!

    By the way, switching from theme to theme to theme is quite a pain, so I don’t test things one at a time: publication date was one of the twelve things I finished checking.

    Posted by Panos | February 18, 2010, 07:59
  3. Many themes also display a page’s date and category while searching a blog using that blog’s search widget. For example, Chaos Theory, Greenery, iNove, Mistylook, Pool, Tarski and White as Milk each displays those two pieces of info. Vigilance and Redoable Lite do not, since a search on these themes only results in a list of dates and titles of the relevant posts/pages.

    A page’s date can be adjusted when creating or editing the page. A page’s category will always be Uncategorized and cannot be adjusted.

    I saw someone post somewhere (in the Support forums or on a wordpress.com help blog?) that pages don’t have dates and categories. This is obviously false. Just throwing this bit of info out there for anybody who stumbles upon this post. :)

    Posted by AndrewBigQ | February 18, 2010, 13:12
  4. @AndrewBigQ: Very good point – thanks! Many users don’t seem to realize that a static page is actually a post, just with some properties removed and some others added.

    When I wrote the post, I considered noting that these two phrases are also false:
    “Pages are not associated with a date/time like posts.”
    ( http://en.support.wordpress.com/pages/ )
    “Pages […] are not listed by date.”
    ( http://en.support.wordpress.com/post-vs-page/ )
    But then I thought it might be seen as playing smartass, so I dropped the idea…

    One correction: a static page’s category isn’t “always” Uncategorized – it’s what you’ve set as your default post category in Settings > Writing (so it can be adjusted).

    Posted by Panos | February 18, 2010, 15:02
  5. Actually, at one point Staff said that dates appearing on static Pages was a bug and they removed them from both Monotone and Cutline as a result. Weird to hear that they’re back on Monotone.

    Posted by Jennifer | February 18, 2010, 22:59
  6. @Jennifer:

    A few weeks ago I sent a ticket suggesting that, since Garland is color customizable, then the way a sticky post is highlighted (currently blue background to title) should also be customizable: staff initially asked for clarification, saying they weren’t aware of any special style for sticky posts in Garland.

    About a week ago I sent a ticket suggesting that the “No comments” tab in Steira should be changed to “Leave a comment” (like they’ve done with all other themes that originally displayed this misleading tab): they thanked me and told me they fixed it, but they didn’t fix it.

    So I think staff can be weird too…

    Posted by Panos | February 19, 2010, 01:20
  7. Yes, but…if dates were to appear on static pages, it would also pretty much rule out using the themes you’ve mentioned if you want a static page as home page. (Drat!)

    Posted by yarnaholic | February 19, 2010, 21:18
  8. Right… Check Toni, for instance: date before page title, and larger than the title!

    Posted by Panos | February 20, 2010, 01:42
  9. Interesting. An example of no entity being perfect (perfectly consistent), not even wordpress (nor poets).

    Well, not even me: I just told someone on the forums that most themes don’t show dates on pages. Technically accurate, but perhaps misleading? bad tess…

    Posted by Tess | February 20, 2010, 05:22
  10. If WP was perfect, the forum wouldn’t be so crowded!

    “Misleading”? Why? 71 out of 82 themes don’t show dates on pages: that’s “most” alright.

    Posted by Panos | February 20, 2010, 11:29
  11. I am *so* waiting on the release of 2010 on WordPress.com (fingers crossed that they don’t screw it up when they do).

    Posted by yarnaholic | February 21, 2010, 23:03
  12. @yarnaholic
    I don’t know what you mean about “waiting the release of 2010 on WordPress.com”. wordpress versions are being constantly updated the last update was 2.9.2 and it just took place.

    Posted by timethief | February 22, 2010, 06:46
  13. @yarnaholic: I hope they fix the cranky things without any other major changes…

    @timethief: perhaps J. is up on rumors we haven’t heard!

    Posted by Panos | February 22, 2010, 07:04
  14. 2010 is the theme that’s going to replace Kubrick as the default ORG theme when v3 is released. You can see the test run here. http://2010dev.wordpress.com/ It’s another white theme, but very appealing, I think.

    Posted by Jennifer | February 22, 2010, 08:49
  15. Thanks Jennifer. I checked it out quickly and yes it’s appealing. Too bad the header height isn’t half of what it is now, because there’s a trend away from “big headers” beginning to develop. I think that may be a result of bloggers choosing to use more images in their posts, and/or to the impact of magazine style themes, which are gaining popularity.

    Posted by timethief | February 22, 2010, 23:39
  16. Ah I see now! What I’ll be curious to examine is the theme options.

    Posted by Panos | February 23, 2010, 01:40
  17. Panos-2010 is live. (Was looking for something else and fell off my chair when I saw it in Appearance>Themes.) Several choices of header images, choice of background color and even background image which you can tile static or fixed.

    Since this is replacing Kubrick I wasn’t expecting even that much. Goodbye Vigilance!

    Posted by Jennifer | April 25, 2010, 13:05
  18. @Jennifer: Thanks for the alert!

    I don’t see why it merits a “Goodbye Vigilance”, though: in 2010 you’ve got page dropdowns and the ability to add a background image, but Vigilance has a more interesting sidebar structure and allows a little bit more color customizing.

    Posted by Panos | April 25, 2010, 21:30
  19. By the way: when viewing a single post, default header image is replaced by “featured image”, if you have selected one.

    Posted by Panos | April 25, 2010, 21:32
  20. I think Vigilance is still a great theme and at some point I may go back to it. But for right now, 2010 fills the bill. Still need to play with it a bit.

    Posted by Jennifer | April 25, 2010, 22:42
  21. As for me, no temptation to change so far: Garland stays (because of the two sidebars and the color customizing).

    Posted by Panos | April 26, 2010, 12:39
  22. No, your blog is well organized as is. Pleasing. Format and function are cooperative…

    I’m tempted by Twenty Ten, though.
    I’d try it on blog 2 which I’ve opened to public again…

    Posted by Tess | April 27, 2010, 08:15
  23. @Tess: I don’t know about pleasing, but I think providing easy access to stuff is important, so I need all those things near the top of the page, so there’s no way I would switch to a theme with a single sidebar.

    I don’t see anything really tempting in 2010: just another white 2-column theme…

    Posted by Panos | April 27, 2010, 09:40
  24. There are two things I am pleased about right now: improved readability and the ability to set a Featured Image as the header on Posts/Pages. This is very useful for my graphics tutorials and I’m hunting up the header files I made in order to enlarge them to fit. I am sure also that I will find more things to like along the way.

    Remember, 2010 is a “big deal” since it’s replacing Kubrick as the default theme for ORG as of the v3.0 release.

    Posted by Jennifer | April 27, 2010, 12:32
  25. @Jennifer: Yes, the featured image option is the only unique one (I had mentioned that). And yes, huge improvement if you compare it to Kubrick (not to Vigilance).

    By improved readability you mean the larger font? That’s good too, now that more people have high-resolution screens.

    Posted by Panos | April 27, 2010, 12:43
  26. Improved readability includes a larger font, but it also includes the type of font and the use of white space as well.

    Posted by Jennifer | April 29, 2010, 09:32
  27. Clarifying, just in case… 2010 vs Vigilance: same font type in posts etc. (Georgia), different font types in post titles, top navigation and widget titles. In my opinion, too much font variety in Vigilance, 2010 more unified.

    Posted by Panos | April 29, 2010, 11:04
  28. How to remove username in my site http://www.wp.me/p1N7XR-1 ……any one plz…

    Posted by Faha | September 13, 2011, 19:40
  29. a) As I’m fond of saying when I see “any one” in a question, this is not a forum, this is my blog: there are no anyones here but me.

    b) Your question should have been posted under the relevant post:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2009/08/15/author-displayed-or-not/

    In that post you would have seen the answer too: you go to Appearance > Theme Options and uncheck the option.

    Posted by Panos | September 13, 2011, 19:54

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,627,417 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
