you're reading:
Pages (static), Sidebar, Themes, Widgets

Widgets on static pages or single posts

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

In most wp.com themes, widgets are displayed on all dynamic pages (main posts page, category pages etc.) as well as when you view a static page or a single complete post. There are some exceptions or special cases, though:

On static pages

Blix, Duster, Iceburgg: no sidebar.

Fauna: regular sidebar replaced by links to the child-pages of the page.

Unsleepable: regular sidebar replaced by links to the child-pages of the page if you haven’t activated any widgets yourself.

Steira: normal sidebar content if commenting is off, replaced by comments if commenting is on.

Adventure Journal, Beach, Blogum, Bold Life, Bouquet, Brand New Day, Bueno, Chateau, Comet, Coraline, Dusk to Dawn, Elegant Grunge, Enterprise, Forever, Fresh & Clean, Modularity Lite, Monochrome, Motion, Notepad, Piano Black, Pilcrow, Quintus, Retro MacOS, Rusty Grunge, Skeptical, Spectrum, Structure, Sundance, The Morning After, Toolbox, Triton Lite, Twenty Eleven, Twenty Ten, Vostok, zBench: sidebar/bottombar can be deactivated or activated on any static page (Page editor > Attributes module > Template).

Mystique: has 6 layouts (1 sidebar, left or right, 2 sidebars, both left or both right or one left and one right, no sidebar); you can choose any one of them for the blog in general, and any one of them for any static page.

On single posts

Black-Letterhead, Day Dream, Iceburgg, Kubrick, Sapphire: no sidebar.

Autofocus: regular sidebar items replaced by post metadata.

Suburbia: post metadata added.

Chaotic Soul: regular sidebar items replaced by post metadata if you haven’t activated any widgets yourself.

Connections, Fauna, Oulipo, Sunburn: sidebar displays post metadata only.

Duster, Twenty Eleven: regular sidebar replaced by “Previous” & “Next” navigation links.

Grid Focus: alternative sidebar (“Primary-Post” on dashboard widget screen).

Selecta: no sidebar on Image or Video format posts.

Steira: normal sidebar content if commenting is off, replaced by comments if commenting is on.

Unsleepable: sidebar yes, bottombar no.

Note:
In some themes the sidebar can be deactivated for the whole blog (all dynamic and static pages); see relevant post, under “Sidebar optional”.

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Widgets on static pages or single posts

  1. Hi,
    I have a question I hope you are able to help me with, regarding widgets.

    I have the coraline theme on my wp.com blog.
    I have figured out to remove the sidebar and the widgets connecting to that from my pages, and only showing this on my main ‘home’ page.

    However, I would like to remove my footer widget on my pages (work, contact, who) and on the blogposts when I choose them individually and only keep it on my main ‘home’ page in the bottom.

    Is this possible and if so, how?
    Thank you, Pernille

    Posted by p_ernille_ | September 20, 2010, 05:09
  2. Hi,
    Definitely not possible if you don’t have the paid CSS upgrade. Perhaps possible if you do, but it would require some advanced CSS wizardry I’m not familiar with. The only one who can tell you for sure is hallluke in the forum (I just saw you’ve asked there too). If he doesn’t see your thread, I’ll bring it to his attention.

    Posted by Panos | September 20, 2010, 13:21
  3. Hi,
    Thank you very much for your response. I hope Halluke will respond in the forum then. I’m diffently not a css wizard – so I guess I’ll live with otherwise :)
    Thanks again!
    Pernille

    Posted by p_ernille_ | September 20, 2010, 16:54
  4. @Pernille: You’re welcome. I alerted Luke – reply here, as you’ve probably seen.

    Posted by Panos | September 21, 2010, 20:55
  5. I use Premium Modern Orange 1.6 for my blog. From my computer I see “Leave a Reply”; “posted in…”;” Edit this enrty”; “Categories”;” Archives” and”Powered by WordPress….” I want to remove all of this. Please help

    [Username link to commercial page removed – P.]

    Posted by Gregory | March 27, 2011, 04:37
  6. hi thank you for the valuable content

    Is there any way this could be updated to include new themes as the info is a bit out of date now.

    Particularly I am looking for themes where the right bar functionality is maintained whenever the visitor is on the home page or has clicked on an individual page.

    Posted by Luxury Fabric, Inspired Design | January 19, 2012, 14:06
  7. Hi and you’re welcome and thanks

    But what makes you think the info is out of date? Check the blurb at the right side of my header! The only free themes that aren’t included in some of my theme surveys yet are Forever and Fresh&Clean, the two themes that were added last week.

    Posted by Panos | January 19, 2012, 14:27

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,601,320 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
