you're reading:
Themes, Time stamp

Posting time displayed or not

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

In the majority of wp.com themes, posts display the publication date (format set in Settings > General). There are several themes, however, in which posts display the publication time as well. Namely:

Almost Spring
Autofocus
Banana Smoothie
Benevolence
Blix
Chaos Theory
Chaotic Soul (on single posts, not on main page)
DePo Masthead
Dusk
Elegant Grunge (on single posts, not on main page)
Fusion (on single posts, not on main page)
Grid Focus
Hemingway
MLB (all three of them)
Ocadia
P2
Pilcrow (on single posts, not on main page)
Pool
Prologue
Quentin
Rounded
Rubric
Sandbox (all four)
Shocking Blue Green
Silver is the New Black
Solipsus
The Journalist v1.9
Thirteen
Under the Influence (on single posts, not on main page)
zBench (on single posts, not on main page)

In many of the themes that normally don’t show the time stamp, you can make it show up by going to Settings > General and selecting the custom date stamp instead of one of the standard ones. Type the options you prefer for day, date, month and year (see Support doc on formatting date and time), and add the code letters G:i to them (thanks to mmadfan for pointing this out).
Exceptions:
• Won’t work in Bold Life, Bouquet, Bueno, Chateau, Chunk, Duotone, Esquire, Fauna, iTheme2, Koi, Monochrome, Next Saturday, Oulipo, Pink Touch 2, Quintus, Redoable Lite, Retro MacOS, Unsleepable.
• Will show twice in Black-Letterhead, Kubrick, NotesIL, Sapphire, Sunburn, Vermilion Christmas.

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/

Discussion

50 thoughts on “Posting time displayed or not

  1. so is there a way to delete the time stamp from CHAOS THEORY?

    I manually went in to each and every post on my blog and “reset” to 0.00, however when I updated and went back to check, it now displayed 12:00 on all of them! argh.

    *also is there a way to add “anything” to the large fields (unused left + right columns) in Chaos Theory?

    It looks OK, when you first look at a new post, but when you scroll down a bit and therefore cannot see the Post Title anymore, it just looks weird + 95% of all blogs out there have sidebars full of widgets and all of mine are at the VERY bottom, which most readers seem to never even make it down there! ;) Any tips, tricks or ideas?

    Other than that, I love the template.

    Thanks in advance for your help and I love your blog! very inspirational.

    Curt King
    Demolish Mag
    [e-mail address removed - P.]

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 18, 2010, 11:01
  2. 1. Without the paid CSS upgrade, the only way to (sort of) delete the timestamp is go to Settings>General, select the “Custom” time format bullet and type one or more characters in the box. Experiment till you find something that will look ok to you as a decorative element. Note that you can also paste html for various symbols – check the “Html characters” link in my left sidebar (copy and paste the codes that start with “&” and end with “;”).

    2. Yes there is a way to add things to the unused space left and right – general idea here:

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2009/10/26/position-absolute-pt-1/

    You understand that it needs complicated html (I can help you with that). But keep in mind that those columns are “large” only if you have a wide high-resolution screen: not everybody does. What exactly are you thinking of adding?

    3. I totally agree with your opinion on bottombar vs sidebar. To me a bottombar is acceptable only if you have very little and very secondary reference material in it. One thing you could do is limit the number of posts per page to only one or two (in Settings>Reading). Another thing, of course, would be switching to a different theme. Have you considered using Neo-Sapien or maybe Chaotic Soul? (Pity we’ve got so few black or dark themes…)

    Posted by Panos | January 18, 2010, 15:47
  3. PS Are you sure you want to have your email parading here? You’re inviting spam!

    Posted by Panos | January 18, 2010, 15:52
  4. no, please delete it. forgot about that but I wanted to make sure you would be able to contact me and I did not know if you wanted your “comments” filled up with my help…

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 18, 2010, 21:28
  5. Done!

    You didn’t have to paste your mail address: First, since your nick links to your wp.com blog, I can see your address both in the Comments editor and in the notification mail I get when a new comment is posted. Second, I would never reply privately: the whole blog is dedicated to tips and advice, so any question someone makes and any help I may be able to give might be of interest to someone else too.

    Posted by Panos | January 18, 2010, 21:40
  6. thanks for your help.

    on #1, thanks for the tips

    on #2 – I haven’t really thought it out, just wanted to know what option there might be before i planned my attack! ;)

    well, ideally I would want at least these towards the top (or left and right somewhere):

    1. search engine widget
    2. subscribe option(s)
    3. categories <—————most important

    can you think of anything "creative" if any of those will not work? not sure what the options are to tell you the truth…

    -CK

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 18, 2010, 21:42
  7. As far as I know, search engine isn’t possible (requires types of code not allowed in wp.com blogs).

    Categories and feeds can be done (check the bottom of my right sidebar, for example: that’s handcrafted by me, and I can place it wherever I like).

    But once again I would advise you against any “attacks” of the kind: visitors with small or low-resolution screens won’t be able to see the extra “sidebar” items without scrolling (horizontally). Better switch to another theme.

    Posted by Panos | January 18, 2010, 22:01
  8. I just had another idea. Drag a new text widget to top of “Sidebar 1″ and paste this in it (don’t forget to click Save):

    <div align="center" style="width:100%;top:600px;left:-330px;position:absolute;"><a href="#bottombar">Click to jump to bottombar</a></div>
    <a name="bottombar"></a>

    Tell me if you like that. Appearance can be changed (can be larger, different color, in a box, whatever).

    Posted by Panos | January 18, 2010, 22:47
  9. Pardon, but I’d also note that adding things to the wide empty space of a theme won’t be visible to people using iPhones or the fancy iPods or other mobile devices. My nice blue doesn’t even show up—there is a setting somewhere to optimize your blog for mobile devices and I think it is the default.

    I don’t know how it looks if it’s deactivated, not having such fancy devices to test it.

    Posted by Tess | January 18, 2010, 22:56
  10. @Tess: Thanks – I was almost ready to invite you to chime in!

    Posted by Panos | January 18, 2010, 23:27
  11. Do you know where to activate or de activate the mobile setting thing? Dotter is IM now, but other stuff is going on and I don’t remember where that is?

    Posted by Tess | January 18, 2010, 23:47
  12. Sorry, I don’t even know there’s such a thing!

    Posted by Panos | January 19, 2010, 00:47
  13. OK. Excuse me. For a while I thought I was crazy.

    But it is under Appearance —> Extras
    “Display a mobile theme when this blog is viewed with a mobile browser”
    seems to be the default, though I’m not sure when that began.

    I only noticed when the daughter was showing off her fancy hi-tech device (in the fall?) and my nice fancy blue gradient didn’t show up after all the work i (you) did on my blog. At the time, I didn’t know that wp had made this “improvement” so I didn’t experiment with it.

    So now, you can see how dysfunctional the mom/daught relationship is, even on instant messaging… (bf came home??? lol)

    Nevermind. The only other people I know with those fancy gadgets are work-related and I don’t want to check what they see with the setting on and off on my blog…

    No matter, for demolishfanzine on your blog here, putting things out to one side or the other will not be visible to folk on mobile devices.

    Posted by Tess | January 19, 2010, 04:16
  14. Thanks – that’s the second thing you taught me today! Under Extras I remember the other two options only, so it must be a fairly new addition.

    Posted by Panos | January 19, 2010, 05:04
  15. Yes! that’s it!!

    I’m glad I showed you something. I feel like Scheherazade! I am wonderfully happy that you are not so definite as that king…

    end of Oct? I was not in a good state @ time…

    Posted by Tess | January 19, 2010, 05:53
  16. No I’m not so definite!

    (But I’m about to sign off…)

    PS you can brief me on yet another thing if and when you start experimenting with the new toy called Typekit.

    Posted by Panos | January 19, 2010, 06:08
  17. Pleasant dreams then!

    Posted by Tess | January 19, 2010, 06:39
  18. hey -sorry I had to leave today when you posted the other ideas.

    this = “Click to jump to bottombar” idea
    was pretty cool, and exactly the “thinking outside the box” help I need, but I only think would work for very short posts.

    And as you can see from my DEMOLISH blog I can get “windy” sometimes and post larger articles…along those same lines, you mentioned your custom Subscribe (RSS & Mail) box was cool and I think that may help. I am not 100% on this as I am already posting reminders to do that at the end of each post.

    However, did you also say I could do the categories? which would be like the SUBJECT INDEX on your right hand side? I think that would be cool or was that simply a “list” of which contains a pointer to to what you used as the “POST” title perhaps?

    Thanks for all of the help again…you rock.

    -Curt

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 19, 2010, 07:23
  19. tess,

    re:Tess Says:

    Pardon, but I’d also note that adding things to the wide empty space of a theme won’t be visible to people using iPhones or the fancy iPods or other mobile devices. My nice blue doesn’t even show up
    ————————————–
    CK: first, TESS your site is cool and the blue sides that changes gradients as you scroll down is VERY creative too.

    regarding the “wide empty space” for Chaos Theory temp…

    -so you are saying (the left side of my posts) will not show up?

    I find that odd because that is the main post Title, Date/Time, Category, Tags & comments field.

    Have another look and I think that falls inside the template, no?

    *And at this point I am not sure how worried I am for mobile users. I should not ignore them, but I think if I design (ha, like I could anyway) something that is totally “mobile-friendly” would it not blah, on a home PC perhaps?

    Panos what is your thoughts on this?

    if not, can you please point me to a real world example online somewhere that best demonstrates this so I can see please?

    I also have this checked: “Display a mobile theme when this blog is viewed with a mobile browser”. When I ran some google webmaster tests and a few others, they did come back with some text and info about that and said I should change it and or address it, WP support said it was OK and normal….so, I dunno.

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 19, 2010, 07:38
  20. • Yes, my “Subject index” is my post categories. But it’s done the normal way, with the Categories widget. If you need to place such a thing elsewhere, like you’re thinking of doing, you have to create the list, and you’ll have to manually update it each time you add a new category in a post.

    • Tess is right. (Noticed that I said I was almost ready to tell her come weigh in on this? That’s because she’s an experienced forum volunteer.) And she doesn’t mean your post title and metadata column: she means the space next to your two columns – the space you first mentioned in your very first comment (see your asterisk). The two side columns in the theme I’m using are real sidebars, and browsers will respect that; in the theme you’re using, they’re just background: as I’ve already said, people with small or low-resolution screens won’t see them. Drag your browser window to make it narrower to see the difference between your theme and mine. So again I say: better not put anything in your side background.

    (As for my other views on that, well, I think whoever is so hooked on gadgets as to read blogs in a mobile phone is a nut.)

    • You said you liked my link-to-bottombar idea, but that it would only do for very short posts. You mean because it disappears from view once you scroll down? Then use the code I wrote, replacing “absolute” with “fixed”: this way the link will remain on the same spot in the browser window when you scroll. The only problem in that case is that at some point it will fall on the title etc. of older posts. If you like the idea, maybe we can turn the phrase into a narrow column (one word per row) and place it to the right of the posts – let me know.

    Posted by Panos | January 19, 2010, 12:37
  21. thanks for the reply

    #1: oh, I thought you were customizing the “SUBJECT” category bar. I did not realize it was a normal widget.

    *so if/when I decide to do that, it will look like yours except for mobile browser and people with smaller screens correct?

    #2 correct me if I am wrong (or have another visit to my site please) but the “Post title and Meta Tag” is in fact in the space next to my ONE (not 2) columns….Chaos Theory only has one column:
    __
    ChaosTheory by Anónimo

    A dark single-column monster developed exclusively for WordPress.com
    __

    and speaking of columns I recently ran across somewhere in the setting where I thought I could change the width of that as well..maybe that would give more “real space”?

    Setting>Writing:

    Writing Settings
    Size of the post box 20 lines

    #3: I will try out the other idea via scrolling. I see what you mean though, it will get “stuck” in the Post Title and Meta Tags at some point in older posts when you scroll down. hmmmmmmmmmmn. I might just say, screw the “small screeners and mobile users” and use a custom version of your “manual” SUBJECTS INDEX on the right side, so far that makes most sense.

    Of course I can try some other templates, but I like the fact that not too many peeps use/like CHAOS THEORY and like I said B4, other than side columns it’s exactly what I want or need.

    Neo-Sapien I did not like at all. Some of the Chaotic Soul is cool, but something about turns me off. Thanks for mentioning those though as they were DARK.

    Theme: Black Letterhead by Ulysses Ronquillo. is the one I like best, but there are at least 20 other Heavy METAL related blogs using that same template. I am trying to be a little different with my 80’s message.

    Take care,

    -CK

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 19, 2010, 23:29
  22. Re #1:

    Correct. (Well, almost: you can’t have the posts-per-category number, unless you’re paranoid enough to manually update it each time you publish a new post).

    Re #2/a:

    “Single-column” is questionable. That description means no sidebar(s), but the post titles and the post metadata are displayed to the left of the posts column, so in essence it’s two columns. (Bottombar is two columns too.)

    Re #2/b:

    Absolutely irrelevant: “size of the post box” in Settings>Writing refers to the post editor screen, not the actual blog.

    Re #3/a (“screw the small screeners and mobile users”):

    I don’t agree with the first part, but that’s your prerogative – it’s your blog, not mine! If you need to, I can guide you on how to create your categories list. But first try this (in a text widget, as suggested in my 18/01/2010/22:47 reply):

    <div align="center" style="width:100%;top:160px;left:460px;position:fixed;">
    <table border="0">
    <tr><td></td><td><a href="#bottombar"><div style="border:1px solid #ccc;padding:1.2em;">Click<br />to<br />jump<br />to<br />bottom<br />bar</div></a></td><td></td></tr>
    </table>
    </div>
    <a name="bottombar"></a>

    Check what happens when you scroll down. Of course you can change the wording, or –as I’ve already said– the style (text color and/or size, frame color and/or thickness, background color).

    Re #3/b:

    Chaotic Soul is one of the best designed wp.com themes, with practically no flaws; but I guess the font and the color of the sidebar titles are too ‘classical’ for your subject matter. Black Letterhead: orange on black and general design quite mediocre to me – no comparison to Chaos Theory.

    Posted by Panos | January 20, 2010, 00:55
  23. I think idea #2 is a bit too “intrusive” and draws your attention over to the right a bit too much. It does work, however when you do actually click that link, cause (as you know) it stays out of the way of any of the bottom bar text.

    I think I will just use your original #1 because it looks more “natural” to my eyes with the current minimal blue-text design. I just modified the position a bit to make it align with the Post Title + Meta Tags (hey -lookout, I am a pro web designer now! ha ha…)

    *I am not happy about what happens to it when it gets lost in the “LINKS” section, but I guess I will have to live with that small problem, as I think it’s more important for that link to “ride” on down and follow the post when peeps scroll down while reading.

    Thank you so much for all of your help and time! Man I sure do really appreciate it!!!!

    *do you know much about WordPress RSS 2.0 Feeds VS Feedburner?

    I have both and now I think something has gone awry with FB. I have an email from the verification explaining what the issue(s) are, but it’s over my head -do you mind if I post it here perhaps?

    I know you are busy and no hurry on this, just whenever you have a moment. Let me know…

    Thanks again for the brainstorming and great tips + code!

    Curt King
    Demolish Mag.

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 20, 2010, 01:40
  24. You’re welcome!

    “I just modified the position a bit to make it align with the Post Title + Meta Tags”.

    Good, but that means you’re using f… Explorer (ignores many web standards). Now in Firefox and Safari it’s aligned with your Blogroll links.

    “I am not happy about what happens to it when it gets lost in the “LINKS” section”.

    Definitely wrong. That’s why I originally placed the “ride” version to the right. At least try a different color perhaps?

    “do you know much about WordPress RSS 2.0 Feeds VS Feedburner?”

    Unfortunately no. Timethief and a couple of other forum volunteers are probably more qualified than me to answer that. Search timethief’s blog first, or ask in the forum.

    Posted by Panos | January 20, 2010, 12:46
  25. I’ll jump in again. Would putting a black background behind “Click for site navigation” keep it more visible (less confusing) when one scrolls over the post title and tags?
    Sort of a picky little point, but…

    BTW Curt: I like how the blues match!

    (Mr. King doesn’t like how the blue in my header clashes with the blue on the timer in my latest post LOL)

    Posted by Tess | January 20, 2010, 16:24
  26. no I am using Firefox. Been a user since day 1.

    it was aligned, but just a few spaces off. no biggie.

    “definitely wrong” = not sure what that means?

    either way, I like it better on the left (and regardless of the color) when you scroll all the way to the bottom (to where the links reside) or if you actually select the link -then it get’s lost in that list, which is why you moved it to the right I suppose and put it in that box?! ;)

    A small price I will have to pay for being stubborn and picking the version that lives on the left.

    Thanks,

    I think I figured out the Feedburner, I just had to re-verify it again, but it showed a lot of code errors (i.e. MOSTLY all of the .mp3 file via the wordpress default audio player for some reason).

    Take care,

    Curt King

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 20, 2010, 22:08
  27. tess,

    I am not sure about your idea. I would have to see it, but just go to my site and look on the left hand side for the blue link (that you like – ha ha!) that says “click for site navigation”.

    Then it will take you to the bottom (to where the crafty beavers that designed Chaos Theory put the widgets section).

    Have a look now, it get’s jumbled within the links. That’s all – no biggie.

    *The only way that I could see that would “hide it”, would be some magical HTML code that could make that link appear all the way to the bottom of the page (i.e. as the LAST widget or something maybe) when it passes through the large horizontal BLUE divider.

    *How was your Udon noodles last night? ;)

    Curt King
    “Who loves to listen to old METALLICA while cooking Thai”

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 20, 2010, 22:17
  28. I mean like this about jumbled with the links:
    —Yes!! no biggie: it is picky:—

    http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/background-color-to-text/

    Add a background color (black) to the link code magic our amazingly smart good friend Panos gave you alreadynabove.

    I didn’t do udon: I did oden!!

    Panos: hope this comment was helpful?

    Posted by Tess | January 21, 2010, 00:30
  29. @Tess: Black bg around the link – good idea!

    @Curt: If you do that, you’ll need to use the code for my boxed version. Change the numbers for positioning as you learned how to, and replace this:

    border:1px solid #ccc

    with this:

    background-color:#1b1b1b

    Posted by Panos | January 21, 2010, 05:36
  30. thanks guys! I ended up changing my mind and trying this one out. I just moved it further down the page on the right hand side.

    I really LOVED the other link (on the left hand side) but it just turned into a mess when it was scrolled all the way into my link section at the bottom bar area.

    I really appreciate the love + help here.

    Blog on….(on the WP format of course).

    Curt King
    Demolish Mag.
    Chicago

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 21, 2010, 21:46
  31. You’re welcome!

    Now I’ll probably publish a post on this trick. You don’t mind if I link to your blog for a live example, do you?

    Posted by Panos | January 22, 2010, 04:04
  32. no I don’t mind.

    can you please mention what type of site it is, VS just a link saying click here?

    maybe like: Demolish Magazine featuring…
    “All things Rock/Metal and Thrash from the Late 80’s”

    *I just found out that you can also use the mp3 player with a “TEXT” widget, so I wonder if you can place that in different spots to?

    I noticed on some “how-to” links from WP support that they said you can have a “Contact Me” widget which will allow people to contact you and it hides you email, I just realized that I have no way for people to contact me privately like that on my blog.

    BUT I looked in all of my Widgets for Chaos Theory and there wasn’t anything like that – perhaps I am missing something?

    Take care,

    Curt King
    Demolish

    Posted by curt king | January 22, 2010, 05:41
  33. 1) In a short post on an html code, I don’t think there would be room for all that. Besides, given the nature of my blog, more readers will visit yours if I write click to see neat trick than if I write click to see neat metal/thrash blog.

    2) Of course. Whatever can be put in a text widget, can be sent elsewhere via the position:absolute code.

    3) It’s a shortcode, not a widget. For standard matters such as this you should get accustomed to searching the official Support docs:

    http://en.support.wordpress.com/contact-form/

    You would have also found it if you checked my “Subject index”.

    4) Notice that all comments after the first have nothing do with the actual post. As a blogger, you realize that’s not the most reasonable of things. You can ask as many questions as you like, and I’ll gladly answer if I can (as you’ve seen!), but please try to post them in relevant posts.

    Posted by Panos | January 22, 2010, 15:07
  34. re:previous

    1.) that sounds silly to me, as if someone wanted help and or you are providing an illustrated answer, then it would not matter what type of site it was. however, do what you will then if one sentence is to much to add and or it will not help. ;)

    2.) thanks – yes I was confirming/agreeing.

    sorry if I called it a “widget”. Looks like a widget to me and the option to do it resides in my “Widgets” section to select and create.

    3.) well, I did look at those help sections (as I ALWAYS do) prior to going for public help in the forums. In this case the simple code = [contact] was so simple that it went over my head perhaps.

    You have to realize for someone starting out that all of this is not easy, all of the code (no matter how simple) looks like a foreign language and to do just the easiest thing such as moving something, adding something etc. is NOT that clear to the average Joe First-time Blogger.
    So I guess when I ran across that I was perhaps expecting a major hassle and just did not “get it” for whatever reason.

    4.) ??? if you are referring to “comments” section here on your site? if so, you cannot “pick” one single post and respond to it if someone else has typed in another comment after that. Please correct me if I am wrong again?

    *that’s why I would prefer to write in private but everyone that provides help seems to have “strict” guidelines to follow and or wants it public for others to read.

    I can understand that -to some extent, but would recommend chatting in private and then if there is something you think everyone could benefit from, then make a new post – just like you want to for the help you provided me and Demolish Magazine, however cut out all of the chit-chat, you should/could have done this or that, you could have looked here or there…and just type the “meat of it” -know what I mean?

    Thanks again for all of your help.

    Feel free to add my site link however it works best for you and your blog.

    *I think you have my email if you would care to respond in private.

    -CK

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 23, 2010, 22:11
  35. • My “it’s a shortcode, not a widget” referred to the contact form, not the audio player. And it was no nitpicking over terminology: I pointed that out first because you were looking for it where it’s not to be found (Appearance>Widgets), second because the contact form shortcode doesn’t work in a text widget – needs to be used in a page (as you’ve successfully done).

    • Yes, some shortcodes are deceptively simple: little formulas via which you easily embed a complex object, without actually having to figure out or search for all the code that would normally be required. (But the real reason behind them is allowing the embedding without allowing you to use potentially harmful types of code.)

    • Come on, I don’t have “strict guidelines” for visitors! (I could have moved your comments myself, you know.) But comments under a particular post are supposed to have some connection with the post, aren’t they? (The title here is “Posting time”, not “Curt’s corner”!) I’m just saying better post new questions under relevant posts, like you originally did re the time stamp.

    By the way, in my opinion if a blog does have strict guidelines, they must be clearly stated somewhere; example here:

    http://sensuouscurmudgeon.wordpress.com/intro/#rules

    Posted by Panos | January 24, 2010, 10:00
  36. yes, communication is key. and it get’s blurred sometimes with “techno-talk” perhaps! ;)

    maybe I was “reading into it” too much and or maybe it was the “tone” used (or that I detected or implied… NOT said) regarding some of the “mis-understandings”.

    *either way, no biggie.

    the “strict guidelines” comment was just an accumulation of my experience(s) with WP forums and or some of the kind people who pitch in and help users – not really just YOU. sorry if you feel that was directed solely at you.

    again, it was not really the stated and or printed “guidelines” but the unwritten “rules” and or what is expected of blog newbies and or sometimes required (whether implied or not).

    Lastly, I understand what you mean on the comments, but exactly how do I respond to a comment on your blog if someone else chimes in and posts something directly underneath the post that I want/need to respond too?

    *also I see now that if it is a NEW topic then you wanted me to start a new THREAD. I get that now, when combining help topics as it does not make it clear for your other readers looking for help but again, I did not know that you were trying to run your blog like a genuine WP “support forum” or similar.

    all kidding and or remarks aside, thanks again and I really appreciate your help!

    Curt King
    Demolish Metal Fanzine

    Posted by demolishfanzine | January 27, 2010, 23:57
  37. Oh yes, communication is often a problem when specialist jargon is involved – we get that in the forum all the time: sometimes we explain something using the appropriate terms, and people say they don’t understand a thing; or people won’t let us understand because they cannot describe a problem accurately or because they confuse terms (that’s one of the reasons we always ask for a link to the blog in question, so we can see for ourselves).

    Oh no, I don’t want to (and I cannot) run the blog like a forum. In a forum any member can start a new thread; in a blog only the administrator publishes posts, and a visitor can comment under them. The similarity is that since this blog is exclusively on tips and advice, most comments are of course questions and answers; and a question/answer may be useful to other visitors too if posted under a post on the same subject.

    As for my tone, please keep in mind that I’m direct and I try to be precise: I mean what I write, and I don’t imply anything other than that!

    Posted by Panos | January 28, 2010, 11:47
  38. Many thanks for this list. My old theme suddenly lost the search box and, when I inquired, it was not clear that the search box would return. So I had to find a new theme. I was surprised that themes that include a date-TIME stamp have become rare, so this list is especially appreciated.

    Posted by LeisureGuy | February 13, 2011, 19:06
  39. You’re welcome. Themes with a time stamp have always been in the minority. As for the search box, which theme was your “old” one?

    Posted by Panos | February 14, 2011, 02:09
  40. I was wondering if you’d seen this:

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/adding-posting-time-to-date-only-themes?replies=9

    about how to insert a time stamp on posts in any theme?

    Posted by Tess | September 19, 2011, 18:17
  41. Wow, thanks (it’s been rather long since I learned something new about themes)!
    I had seen the title of the thread but didn’t bother to open it, thinking it would be a CSS question.
    And I was online when I received the notification for your comment. You can guess what I did before writing this reply: checked all themes to see if it works in all of them (and will update the post accordingly)…

    Posted by Panos | September 19, 2011, 19:31
  42. Yes, I did check it in a number of themes (not all, but in a sort of representative selection of older and newer themes, then made an assumption from there that it is generally workable).

    It’s amusing to me how someone so sensitive to artistic (no, that’s not right, to underlying sensibilities? emotions, music, undefined entities?) things can take such a scientific approach to questions. But of course, that makes good sense. I do often go out on tangents and make mistakes—precipitously looking at things ass backwards.

    Posted by Tess | September 19, 2011, 19:57
  43. It works in most but not all themes, and in some the time will show up twice.

    As for the other remark, the artistic or whatever doesn’t exclude the methodical!

    Posted by Panos | September 19, 2011, 20:32
  44. @Tess: Post updated!

    Posted by Panos | September 24, 2011, 08:51
  45. methodical me: sometimes but not consistaent
    —using Chateau on two blogs, and I didn’t even check how it works on that theme!

    Thanks for your work.

    Posted by Tess | September 24, 2011, 18:32
  46. Well, does it matter? I can think of very few types of blogs in which the time stamp could be of some significance.

    Posted by Panos | September 24, 2011, 21:35
  47. Matter? I think being meticulous, systematic, organized might make getting along more orderly for me.
    My own sense of the clock makes the time stamp on a post extraneous for any of my purposes, but for some it is apparently useful.

    Posted by Tess | September 25, 2011, 03:30
  48. Yeah, yeah, meticulous, systematic, organized is good (usually). I meant it doesn’t matter if you didn’t check it in Chateau because you and most bloggers probably don’t need the time stamp.

    Posted by Panos | September 25, 2011, 05:26

Author

author's avatar panos (justpi)

 Subject Index

Announcement 22/03/2012: After WP's latest move, this blog will no longer offer active support and assistance. The blog will remain online but commenting on older posts has been disabled.
✶ All theme-related posts are updated up to and including theme 189 in this list, but will not continue to be updated.

Stats

  • 2,561,534 views
  • Views per month:
Safari Icon Firefox - Never Internet Explorer
Note: if you see ads on this site, they are placed by WordPress, not me.
wpbtips.wordpress.com
Mostly on themes, formatting, coding, tweaks and workarounds.
Based on or springing from my contributing in the wp.com forum.
Theme-related posts constantly updated
Premium themes and Annotum not included
